Caught In The Act

in #story5 years ago (edited)

It would be nice if I maintained etiquette to writing on just the areas of my blog field, but you have to pardon me for the little digressions today. This is a short story of what I encountered in my working place yesterday. Yesterday really marked the most heroic day of my life, as I fled from cowardice and embraced bravery.

source
It was about 08:00am that I woke up, carried out my needful and zoomed off to work. Our company was always known to have ethos of good integrity until a new manager was posted in. He has been with us since January this year, and was known for his urge of getting rich quickly underminig the laws the company has set aside to guide her staff's on protocols. lt began so early at about 11:30pm ,barely 3hours we started work. We had about 15 petrol tankers on queue to fill full, the work became less when we had filled about 7 of the tankers filled to its 40,000 litre mark.

source
During the work process, I noticed a fishy movement between a driver and my manager, until I saw the manager collecting huge amount of money from the tanker truck driver. I seem curious right? But no one knew I was just doing my job, that's all. Not quite long, my manager walked up to me and instructed me to fill that particular drivers tanker just to its 30,000litre marks, which I did without complain. I felt so bad for what I knew that really happened and told the driver his actions were barbaric, he smiled, without uterring a word he departed. Our daily account record was taken buy the accountant, but I still went as much as keeping my records secretly for clarity purpose.
IMG_20181108_172407.jpg
source
It was about 4 hours the driver left, then I saw him again in the premises but this time, paraded by four fearless men of the Armed Forces, who ordered for an urgent meeting to know the workers that was responsible for the mess. We were called on one after another to explain how the claimed "it was a mistake" issue occurred, when I was called on, I exposed all what my manager had done. My manager was arrested and taken out of the premises. Many of my co-workers called me a disgrace, and said I was the black sheep of the company. But I was happy because I knew what I did was right.

source
Not quite long the arrest took place, my boss was brought back to his office in military vehicle. Everything seemed alright with him, as the military men who brought him back were apologizing to him. At this point, I knew my fate and had to embrace it. I was served a sack letter and he got me fired yesterday .The good I called it that I did, paid me with regrets. I have been so cold inside, even as I write this post. Thanks for reading my life story..

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I'm sorry for your loss, it is difficult to do the right thing in these crazy times but well done dear, you did the right thing, a brave thing. You've got quite a few typos in there. please do well to edit them...cheers!

#Bigwaves

Thanks so much

Your post has been featured on @wafrica

Courtesy of @nmalove

Thanks so much. My pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55