OVER THE SILVER SKY TO THE WORLD OF NEVER : Part 142 - Nemesis.

in #story5 years ago (edited)

So there I was owning my mind business, when my son, of all people, comes up to me. Not some random encounter in the street. He was in my home. My house my rules I might add. He wanted to hug me. Which is about as insultingly provocative as anyone can get. When I rejected his unwanted advances he began to talk about feelings. How he was building up an emotional vocabulary in order to express them. I slapped him hard across the face, twice. Screaming at him for his aberrant, twisted, behavior. Firstly we were both men. Feelings and emotions are things we crush and ignore until they form ball of concentrated hate in our psyches then we go on an extended killing spree. Because we are men. Secondly we are British. The outward show of anything more than mild distaste is anathema to our genetic heritage. If you want emotions renounce your citizenship and become French, I told him. It was the worst insult I could think of. Then I kicked him out into the street and told him never to darken my door again. Anyway he and his wife are coming over on Thursday for something called an intervention. Can't wait to find out what that is.


(The copyright to this image is the property of Verywell Family.)

"HolyshitIdidn'tknowwecoulddothis." Hermes speeded up voice squeaked. "All systems green." A melodious baritone announced. "Ooo I do sound butch don't I. I might keep this... I've got a lot of new subroutines and capabilities here. Some of this stuff is impossible. I don't have the capacity for half of these things."
Jake stirred, his fingers twitched.
"Guys. I think he's still alive." Sade exclaimed, still crouched over Poppy.
"That's impossible." Alain declared.
"Yeah." The Wanderer drawled. "Hermes just said something similar. Keep an eye on the shit stain that stabbed Poppy in the back, he's only feigning being unconscious."
Ellie took two quick strides, right leg swinging up into the air, before flashing downwards into the assassin's solar plexus. Jake stood up. Smooth and effortless. Stretching his arms out, fingers spread wide.
"How is she?"
The others looked towards the nerd being tended to by Sade.
"It's touch and go. She's hanging in there somehow." The boatswain's voice brimming with sorrow. Is there any chance you could..."
"No." The resurrected one cut him off. "This is not something I'd inflict on anyone. There are things inside me now that no one should have to experience." He turned towards the 3 other captives. Cuffed hand and foot, on their knees. Jake winked at them. "I'll be with you shortly gentlemen. I have other business to attend to first. Pray that she survives. Otherwise things will be a lot worse for you than they already are."
He moved over to the forlorn body. That already pale skin with the pallor of death. On his knees he stroked her cheek softly. Carefully brushing the hair from her pretty face.
"I'm not hopeful Jake." Sade fought to keep the tremor from her voice.
He placed his hand on her shoulder. Squeezed reassuringly.
"Neither am I. The fact she's still alive is all that's keeping me from loosing my shit completely. Nobody wants that to happen."
"They took.."
"I know. She's fine. Relatively unharmed and dealing out as much mayhem as she can."
"How do you know?" The engineer asked.
"Because I am the vessel of Nemesis. Excuse me my friend. I have the need to take some pleasure."
The others stared at him uncomprehendingly. The Wanderer/Nemesis rose. Strolled over to the Knifeman, Ellie was watching like a hawk.

Why had he risked ruining the ambush? Jake cursed himself for not checking that. Nemesis calmed him. There it was. All available information. Teague Lanifer, of the Order of the Assassin's League, Palamar Chapter. Sadistic psychopath. Who hadn't been able to resist the temptation to watch her die. That was it. Something that was barely a man took joy in watching a helpless woman die slowly. According to the orders records he had no fear. Excessively narcissistic and impulsive. At least two contracts compromised by his need to sate that lust.

"How long have we got Hermes?"
No need for him to extrapolate.
"Eight minutes twenty eight seconds, boss."
"That's a shame. best not waste any time then."
Reaching down Nemesis plucked Lanifer from the ground. Dangling his body at arms length.
"You don't scare me. You're pathetic. Kill me. I'll come for you in your sleep when I get back."
Jake smiled.
"I'm not trying to scare you silly boy. I'm going to use you as an example." Still holding him there, he held his other hand out to his comrades. "Could I possibly trouble you for two really sharp long, thin blades?" There was a wide choice. he batted away two attempts by the assassin to free himself. "I'll take that one. Thanks Alain. And yours Ellie. Most kind of you." The first, a rapier, was slipped into his belt. The second, a two foot long dagger, he held overhand. "Now Teague Lanifer." There was a slight twitch at the use of his real name. "You like working in the dark don't you. So that's where we'll do this. If you can get past me. You can go free." He held up the dagger wielding hand to forestall the protests. "It's a big if."

Time was an issue here. He dived into Nemesis. The walls of the surrounding buildings became transparent. Mostly dwellings. That one there. A large storeroom with one boarded up window. A steel door, locked, barred and padlocked on the other side. It would be good to let him think there might be a way out. The Wanderer peeled the boarding off, tossed the assassin inside. Vaulted after him replacing the board.

Inside it was pitch black. Lannifer had already sought a corner. Turning on his visor the infra red and image intensifiers instantly illuminating the darkness. Blinded by the window the visor automatically adjusted. He pulled out his concealed weapons.

"You're a fool, whoever you are. This is my canvas. I can see in the dark." He scanned the entire room. Nothing.
Then the chill in his spine at the voice from behind.
"I can see through walls. You can't escape. I only brought you in here to torture for a bit. Let's get started shall we." The lightning fast duck, dive, roll and turn. Nothing. "I'm over here." Again the voice behind him. The assassin struck instantly. His arm snapped like a thin twig in two places before the elbow was dislocated. "That's a nice long, thin, sharp knife. Thanks. Alain will get his sword back." Another desperate thrust.
"Where are you?" The crippled Lanifer snarled.
His remaining arm being shattering at the wrist, elbow and shoulder, produced the first howl of agony.
"From this point on. This is going to get a lot worse Teague Lanifer. I've finished the warm up."

Screeches, squeals and wails filled the alley. The company from the ship nodded at each one. The three captives gave one another nervous looks. The cacophony continued for five long minutes before something resembling a scarecrow smashed out through the boarding. Spitting teeth and gore from a shattered mouth. A bubble formed then popped. The face contorted into a mask of unbearable torment. Nemesis had found all the blades, then become creative. Now they were inserted along the nerve pathways up both arms and both legs terminating in the nerve bundles in the subjects torso. Jake sprung through moments afterwards. Landing beside the excruciated body. A kick sent it slamming into the wall at least three feet above the ground. The only sound from the assassin a gurgle.

"Have you never done this before?" Jake asked curiously. "Because you're struggling to be inadequate. It was like fighting a pot plant. I have a parting gift for you shit stain."
Grabbing him by the head, with both hands Nemesis pulled Lanifer face to face staring into his eyes. What the assassin saw there will never be known. What he found there was all that fear he'd never felt added to all the fear of those he'd murdered. Despite the pain he twitched and thrashed. Panicked into trying to escape. The body dropped to the ground. Ellie put her hand on her ax.
"Finish him off?"
"No. Let him live for now. Let him feel his life drain away."
She nodded emphatically.
"Good decision." The blonde stated.
"One minute twenty seconds." The AI informed.
He moved towards the soldiers, drawing his rifle. Standing over the captives. The two officers met his eyes before theirs dropped. The NCO had more sense.
"For what you are about to receive I am truly sorry boys. I know that you're simply soldiers doing your job. I know you were only following orders so you didn't have a choice. Thing is you need to know that there's always a choice. Even if the only other option is death. You first." Jake looked down on the NCO.
"He won't tell you anything. Killing us won't achieve anything either."
He pursed his lips, nodding.
"Yeah, but he hurt the woman I love. He hit her twice." One round through each foot and one through the heart. The sound of the shots combining. As the body toppled sideways, he snatched the helmet off its head. Held it up in front of his face. "To whom it may concern. You have six hours to release the captain of the Scarlet Harlot unharmed or suffer the consequences."
"We deactivated all their comms Jake." Pengelly advised.
"Not all of them. There's an encrypted tight beam transmitter they've only recently developed. Barely detectable and only activated a minute of so after the main comms are disabled."
The two officers looked at one another uncomfortably. The senior one spoke.
"You're trying to soften us up. We aren't novices. We're special forces. We've been trained for this." The words far more confident than the tone."Torture us if you like. We won't tell you anything. We'll die before we give you any information."
He roared with laughter. Rib cracking mirth that was far more intimidating than any possible threat.
"I don't need you for information. I already have all the information I need. You are officers in the military arm of the Artificers. Your commander is Serge Kantar. I know far more than either of you do and I know, there is always a choice. I'm going to use you to send a message in five hours time, when they refuse to release her. To me you're note paper. Unfortunately for you the message is going to be in block capitals with really heavy underlining . Now if I'm not mistaken you gentlemen are expecting the cavalry to arrive round about now. They will be here shortly I promise. They are intending to kill all of us though, including you. I'm going to try my best not to let happen. Cover everyone. I'll keep Poppy safe."

Within a few seconds a surveillance hoverer and a stealthed attack helicopter appeared at either end of the alley. Their chain guns spinning into motion. Before a shot was fired. The helicopter pilots brains flew out of the back of his skull as three special build high explosive, armor piercing rounds struck exactly the same point on the plastiglass canopy. Not even bothering to turn round Jake rested his rifle over his shoulder and repeated the trick. The hoverer's emergency systems cut in bringing it to a sliding landing. The helicopter, having no such safeties, wheeled away smashing into second floor of a building. Smoke pouring from it. He strolled nonchalantly towards the downed surveillance vehicle. Grabbed its camera boom, looking directly into it.

"Kantar, Melb Strobo. You now have five hours and fifty five minutes to release the captain of the Scarlet Harlot, or suffer the consequences."
The three men and Ellie came out of cover.
"That was some impressive shooting man." Fetu admiringly commented.
"How the hell did you do it?" Pengelly asked in disbelief.
"Much as I want to take all the credit here. That wasn't me, that was Nemesis. I'm just the tool she's using." He inspected his rifle. "I need something with a bit more punch. She's got just the thing in mind."

At that point three members of the crew arrived in a hastily hired transport. Morag in the lead. She was the one with the medical degree. Not being stupid she didn't bother looking around. Attending to Poppy instantly. Her medikit swiftly brought into action. It was still looking bad. Unless they got back to the ship very quickly the pretty young nerd was doomed.

"We're going to have one hell of a job getting her through gate security Jake. Let alone those two." She inclined her head towards the prisoners. "The whole city is in uproar."
"Don't worry. I've got that covered. Or I will do shortly. Major Kayzee can you hear me?"
"What the hell? Who are you and how did you get on this secure channel?" He quickly explained the situation and what he needed Major Kayzee to do. There was the briefest of pauses. "Aw shit this is it isn't it? The civil war we've been needing for years now. Will do. Neutrality sucks balls anyway. All of my assets are at your disposal. Who are you though?"
"I am The Wanderer. And this is the first time I've said that and actually meant it."
A humorless chuckle from the constabulary officer.
"Neptune's dick! Things really are that bad."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99