Boomerang. -- Contributed by @mapens

in #story6 years ago

Image: iStocks

I was there when it all started.

He saw her, and dazzled by her stunning beauty and unmatched sexiness, he decided he was not gonna let her pass him by. Thus he approached her. He was very cute and eloquent too, he knew his way around women and it didn't take quite long to get her to say yes. So they started dating. Her name was Anna and his name was Ken. Little did she know that shortly before ken professed his undying and eternal love for her, he did same for another girl named Esther, who was also as sweet, pretty and sexy like her. In fact, his taste in women was always pitch perfect.

How he managed to keep one from knowing about the other for more than a year was a skill set I couldn't master till date.

But nothing actually lasts forever. No matter how good a player you are, everyone makes mistakes! And one day - Ken did!

He slept off on Esther's lap, leaving his phone open. Trust women to give in to curiosity! She picked up the device and started gong through it. This wasn't the first time she'd done something like that, but this time, he didn't hide his dirty stuff like he usually did at other times.

What she saw shocked her to the marrow! His chats with several girls, amongst which she pinpointed that of Anna. She's been in the world long enough to identify a threat when she saw one. After going through all the chats, she knew that all the girls were mere flings except Anna. The way he talked to her, the things they shared; she immediately knew that the love of her boyfriend was being shared evenly between her and this Anna.

What was she gonna do? She was burning with rage; her eyes were red with fury. She recalled all the sacrifices she'd made for him, the things she did for him that she'd never have done for any other man. She looked at him as he slept and wished she was strong enough to plant a kitchen knife in his chest! But she wasn't, she loved him too much.

So she took screenshots of his chats with all the girls, Anna's inclusive. She sent all the intimate pictures they shared to him to her phone. She took Anna's number, then packed her bags and left.

It was Anna's call that woke him up.

"Hello babe" he said in usual tone.

"Don't you dare call me that again ever in your life!"

All the sleep vanished from his eyes in that instant.

"What's wrong sweetheart?" he asked innocently

"Don't sweetheart me you unscrupulous cheat! You're the worst thing to ever happen to me..."

She continued raving at him, saying a lot of bitter things and pouring out some of the grief and bitterness that has formed inside of her. She subsequently hung up on him without giving him the chance to say anything.

Ken was perplexed. He knew his bubble had been busted, but how? He called her repeatedly but she kept ignoring his calls. At a point, she blocked him totally and he couldn't even get across to her.

He sat down and thought for a while and something struck him - Esther's luggage, they were no longer there. He opened the wardrobe and realized that none of Esther's belongings were there anymore. At that point, he didn't need a prophet to tell him what happened.

That was when he called me. He wanted me to intercede for him, but where do I start from? I knew Anna to be the love of his life and she knew me to be her boyfriend's best friend. She respected me as such. I also knew Esther, but what I didn't know was the level of affection my friend had for her. The situation was a very dicey one.

I called Anna and booked an appointment with her and within the next 1 hour, we were talking face to face. Amidst tears, she explained how an unknown girl called her to tell her that her boyfriend was cheating on her. She even went on to chat her up on whatsapp and sent her some pictures and videos to back up her claim. Of course, the girl was no other than Esther.

I pleaded relentlessly for a second chance for my friend but Anna was hurt too much to think about forgiveness. She asked me to invite my friend over so he can beg for himself. I hesitated, but she insisted, so I gave in.

I called Ken and gave him the address of the restaurant we were in and within minutes he turned up wearing a very sorry, contrite look. At the first sight of him, Anna broke down completely. She couldn't hold back the tears. As if that was not enough, he said: "Am sorry baby."

She flung her handbag at him.

"Don't you dare call me baby you infidel!"

I held her down immediately to prevent her from doing further damage.

"Just...just look at that fool" she said to me.

"That useless idiot!"

She turned to him.

"You will leave to regret this. Your daughters shall surely experience what you put me through.
"Oh, did I say daughters? That's if you manage to have any! For all the abortions I did for you, you will never see a baby in your life!"

Chills ran down my spine.

"Please dear, it’s enough" I begged.

The curses were becoming way too much.

"It's not enough! It can't ever be enough! This guy will suffer two fold all the pains he made me suffer! He'll..."

I covered her mouth with my palms and signaled Ken to leave. His presence was doing more harm than good.

It wasn't easy getting her to calm down. She left our meeting utterly heartbroken.

Years later Ken and Anna were happily married with things going well for them. Wait - are you surprised?
Let me tell you what happened then.

After our tearful meeting with Anna, he kept approaching her with pleas and apologies. He went through every possible source he could think of to get her forgiveness, even her mum.
Everyone deserves a second chance as long as they're genuinely worth it, and my friend made sure he was. So she subsequently forgave him and slowly but steadily, they rebuilt what he tore down.

So what about Esther you may ask? My friend also had to sort things out with her, but once he got back with Anna, he locked up his heart to every other girl. It was just Anna and only Anna.

And so their love grew stronger until they cemented the whole thing by saying "I do". With time everyone forgot the restaurant incident, but I didn't, at least not totally.

They had everything - the love, the money, the happiness. Things were looking pitch perfect.

Years passed but Anna failed to conceive. They ran a million tests in a million hospitals but the results were the same - Anna was okay, nothing was wrong with her medically.

When they realized that orthodox medicine could do nothing for them, they went local. Day in day out, Anna would drink herbal substances that were so bitter that she'd always feel like throwing up. But she persisted, she wanted a baby, but nothing worked.

Even though circumstances had pushed Ken to become an ardent church-goer, he still didn't believe in some things - but I did. So I visited them that day to pour out my mind to them, I've kept quiet long enough.

Sitting right opposite Ken and Anna in their posh living room, I took them back 13 years, on that very day, at that restaurant where she poured out bitter words on him. I reminded them of what she had said to him, the passion and bitterness with which she said all those things and how they came out from deep inside her heart. Yes, she forgave him for cheating on her, but like Paul will say in the scriptures, there's power in our tongue!

I could vividly remember her words amidst tears: "...You'll never see a baby in your life..."
Little did she know that she'd end up being the wife of the man she was cursing!

"I think you guys need prayers" I concluded, "Serious prayers"

Anna was looking lost; Ken was looking as helpless as someone who lost a million dollars. They both knew I was right.

They really needed prayers... I was there when it all started.

The end.

Blog contributor: @mapens

Editor: @pangoli, for the community!


@stach.pay is a community innovative account created to promote and provide rewards for the creative commons seeking to get rewarded for their works on the Steem Blockchain. If you like the story above, feel free to click the , and as well support the community in ways that you can. Thank you for reading
Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05