You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Art, the Early Years Part II

in #story6 years ago

Hi Ruth, it is always interesting to see your art works but with this post you opened a window in the background, the way how you came to your calling, your life energy, I think many of us who have this opportunity to combine their hobby, tehir work and bring it to the perfection of being one, their life they are very lucky people.

You made me curious about Scripps in Claremont, CA, so I went to explore what is that, I was surprise to find that Ellen Browning Scripps founded the college and I love the motto of the college is "Incipit Vita Nova". I can imagine it influenced you very much and you found you way. By the way there was a tree in front of Balch Hall courtyard , when I saw it I thought probably your idea about the ceramic tree came from been seen that tree :)

I love your pottery with hands, that is my favorite. I am wondering do you still keep your first works, I would probably do, just as a reminder.

Enjoyed your post and was glad to know more about you and your art :)

Sort:  

makes me very happy to hear that you looked up Scripps - it's one of my favorite places! "incipit vita nova" - isn't this perfect??!! I've always been so proud to have a founder who was such a beautiful thinker!

Scripps is lush with gorgeous trees from Eucalyptus, to Oak to Beech to Olive and Pepper as well as Orange and Lemon trees - kind of paradise - and I learned to love trees there for sure.

I kept the hands piece and have it still but I sold all of the others. I hang on to very few pieces but as you say, it can be nice to have a few reminders of the old days.

Thanks @stef1 for your frequent support of my blog, I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87