Thoughts on some herb & progress

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Today, I went to My Brother’s place to check out how the seedlings, that were planted about two weeks ago, were doing. He had repotted most of the seedlings in individual pots: or at least in separate containers. 87DFD1F6-458A-458D-AD46-39B817B87931.jpeg

Apparently, he figured out that the seedlings shouldn't be planted too close together as to not interfer with growing. This was also pointed out in the comments last week. He didn't have pots so he found what he could use. One of them appeared to be planted inside a former kid’s sand box bucket.😛

Whatever works. We often have to learn to improvise and be creative in order to accomplish whatever we are planning to do.

822B1AB5-5E54-4452-8E43-8D02E7585F5C.jpeg

In my last posting, I was worried that he was over-watering and I still believe that suspicion is correct. However, the seedlings have in fact shown some growth. Sometimes, it’s really difficult to get your point across to people that are extremely naive and this is such case. He has been reading on the art of cannabis gardening somewhat. I mean he's at least trying to show effort.

Apparently, he will get rid of all the male plants after he is able to differentiate the sex between them. This is to prevent the plant from mating (I don't remember the proper term from Botany) that will supposedly prevent the female plants from producing seeds. This way they can focus their energy into producing enticing buds. At least that is what I got from his explanation. So, feel free to correct me if I’m wrong in the comments.

Well, he asked me if I had five dollars to get an 1/8th, from a new plug, that was in town. The five dollar statement is very consistent and almost ubiquitous in cannabis culture. Five dollars seems like the perfect amount to ask someone to chip in to score, or to announce how much you’re willing to throw down to get elevated. In fact, there was a song specifically written about this unwritten five dollar rule.

The Bay Area’s duo Luniz’s “I got 5 on it.” The song features lyrics like:

“...I got 5 on it; messin’ with that Indo weed
I got 5 on it; its got me stuck, can not go back
I got 5 on it; partner let’s go half on a sack..”

0.02

The partner reference and "...let's go half on a sack" obviously implies they were aiming to getting a dime (A ten-dollar bill sack). Indo weed refers to the strain cross between an Indonesian indica and a Western sativa strain. It can also refer to weed that is grown indoors.

This is the classic marijuana anthem that yes it still slaps. Slaps, according to Urban dictionary is a word used that originated from the Bay Area music culture scene. If you’ve never heard that term used in that matter: it’s a word that can be classified as being vernacular to the region. Just like the word hella.

Personally, I stopped using hella a long time ago and just recently have adopted to use the word slaps to describe and illustrate a song. I think its a colorful word that transcends emotion in a deeper more profound manner.

Anyhow, my Brother returned quickly and this is what he came back with.

DF94F06E-8786-4E81-8D43-AED3B48F351A.png

Unknown and nameless cannabis, marijuana, dank, skunk, marijuana, weed, marihuana, mota, pot, reefer, grass, hashish, tea (I guess possibly used during the Beatnik era- think Burroughs, Kerouac Etc). I’m sure there’s a plethora of words out there to describe the CBD & THC producing plant.

This got me curious into looking through Google Trends and seeing which words Cannabis or Marijuana were searched more frequently in countries around the world. In other words, what word dominates in each country. This was generated.

706477A1-0C85-445E-AE2B-7F5F63535057.png
Courtesy of Google Trends

Interesting, I live in an area where more people search for it online as marijuana. This is what I usually hear in local media. I’ve never heard a local reporter say “Cannabis bust.” However, I read somewhere that calling it cannabis leaves a more positive note or impression than using marijuana. Call it what you may, I always interchange the words depending on my audience. Everyone does this it can be called coding or code-switching.

I've concluded that my Brother breaks glass pipes more frequently than the average human being. He went to the local head-shop and purchased a simple small glass pipe at a very reasonable price of less than 5 dollars & a quarter.

D0D0D4C6-DFE9-4B5F-AC5C-2C48C6200C9C.jpeg

Good deal.

What I felt like and sensed

We smoked this and it had a nice fruity taste with citrus notes and a sort of skunky scent. Not as prominent or dominate enough to be protruding or intrusive, but it definitely gave a slight potent stench. It's relaxing and yet alluring more of a head high rather than a body high. I figured, its more likely to keep your mind active than make you feel sleepy and get caught in an endless thought that never fully develops. Also, it can be probably used as a tool, a creative enhancement, and probably help you get shit done. An active sense enhancer that allows you to be less idle and encourages your mind to be constantly decoding information as you receive it.

E30629FA-4703-4D5F-8B6F-99170AB58A68.jpeg

It's better than Reggie, Shit Pot, Mexican grass, etc. It's also not top shelf.

Well, I was also made aware that my Brother has also been taking the plants indoors in the evenings and places them in his closet overnight. In the closet, he's keeping them lighted all night long with your average desk lamp that he hangs above the plants. Improvise remember?

My mind is open to suggestions or corrections from anything that I wrote if you feel inclined to correct or comment . I really hope these plants survive. Being able to grow & smoke something that you had some sort of part in, is probably a really awarding experience. I'm looking forward to it.

All graphics & photography by @stonercoin unless otherwise noted.

Sort:  

Nice post, bud! Upvoted :)
Most of what you said sounds about right, to me. You're on the right track. Less water is really going to be a good thing, the soil should never be wet unless you've just watered within minutes. A soil surface that is constantly wet is begging to rot the plant stems off, killing them. They only need to be WET wet when they're sprouting.
And cannabis is definitely the correct term. Marijuana is a slang term invented by the US government to make it sound scarier in the 1930s. Marijuana only refers to the dried buds. Saying "marijuana plant" is pretty much the same as saying "guacamole plant" instead of avocado.

Wet top soil attracts bugs too👍

Yeah, I figured that too.

Marijuana is a spanish word lol.
It wasn't concocted in a laboratory. :)

It's actually not a spanish word at all. It's slang, and was chosen by the US government in the 1930s as the official name for dried cannabis flower, to associate cannabis with Mexicans in the public eye, to make it sound foreign and scary. You're right that it wasn't dreamed up in a lab :)

Damn good point on the whole guacamole plant = marijuana plant part, I never realized that until now.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SunnyEgo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lol! I really enjoyed reading that. Now I’ll have “I got five on it” in my head. Also I assume the cannabis term which is the correct name is used most often in legal states, medical or rec.

sometimes I miss unknown nameless cannabis

It’s that uncertainty that makes it appealing. The unpredictable factors that help sell it. Reminds me of those toys, that my niece wants. They’re called something like LOLSurprise eggs. Random toys in eggs. It’s definitely a gamble.

For sure, kind of like those subscription boxes where you get some kind of weed related stuff every month but you don't really know exactly know what it's going to be.

Mine is unknown.

Mating is a correct term for cannabis plants.
Many also say breeding. However a DIME
is a ten sack. A DUB is a twenty sack.

Show your brother this:
https://steemit.com/cannabis/@a1-shroom-spores/when-not-to-water-your-cannabis-plants

Ohh, yeah I corrected that. Thanks. I tried to show him that. He refuses to take any advice. The plants are already getting slightly yellow. Well, like the second set of leaves. Today, I convinced him that I would water one only. He agreed and let me put one aside that is kind of weak (it's misusing a leaf. I think the cat bit it off) Anyhow, I'm not going to water it until I feel necessary. I think it should be bigger by now. Yeah, I saw your link. It's a bummer some people think they know everything.

Here is mine...

78A578FF-D0F9-4CFC-9D2A-6373100B0B9E.jpeg

Really cute. How old is this sweet little thing? What is it? Outdoors?

About 2 weeks old from seed. Indoors... not sure exactly what it is. They were free from Overgrow Canada. 10%CBD... 1% THC... for stress, anxiety etc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66