Redacted

in #story6 years ago (edited)

insertclevercov.jpg

Redacted

[audio playback begins]

[whispering] Some legends are truer than others.

No; that’s a terrible way to begin. Let me try again.

Once upon a time…

Nope. Ugh. This is harder than I thought. [clears throat] Okay, okay, I’ve got it.

[papers rustling; a low hum can be heard in the background]

We can blame the fall of our nation on [inaudible]. If it wasn’t for them, in their fancy suits and their tiny homes and their dedication to [inaudible], more of us would have survived. If you are listening to this recording, beware of them and their gifts. Beware of their smiles, full of perfect, sharp, monstrous teeth. Be wary of them, with their [inaudible] skin and flawless speech. Be alarmed, when they choose you, when they say, “We have found a great opportunity for you,” for they lie. The greatness is for them; for you, there is only sorrow. We can blame them for our fate.

Perhaps, too, we can blame ourselves. We allowed ourselves to be swayed by the promises of prosperity. It seemed so easy, too easy, in retrospect. We reached out for assistance, and they arrived, with their cases of [inaudible] and those grins and the words, “Join us” on their lips. We believed. And we fell.

Beware the [inaudible], for they are out there, and their next target is -

[audio playback ends]

Sumayyah Talibah © 09 January 2018

Visit me on Sumayyah Said So, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Sort:  

Really loved this! It reminded me of Welcome To Night Vale, but with more overtly political themes. Upped, resteemed and followed :)

Thank you! I'm honored to be compared to Welcome to Night Vale.

You just described the government of my country with this short post. This is a wonderful one @sumayyahsaidso. I love it.

Thanks for reading.

This is magnificent! Thank you <3

Thanks for reading and resteeming!

It was my pleasure :)

Hello , I like it . Upvote and Follow you . .. Please if you do it , I'm so happy. Thank you .
@sumayyahsaidso
@steem-untalented

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93