FADED BUT STILL THERE

in #story6 years ago

Memories are a strange thing when you think about it. They sometimes come and go, sometimes they hide from us. Of course, there are the ones we don't remember at all.

I've often looked at pictures of myself when I was a baby and thought , "I don't remember that", "why can't I remember"?

Before we are born, we had no idea if we existed somewhere else because we can't remember. We are born and can't remember the event. We look at baby pictures and can't remember, but know it's us in the picture.

From before birth until around 4 or 5 we have no memory. Usually by that age we can start storing memories that will last a lifetime.

Why can't we remember as far back as birth? It appears no one knows for sure, but there are several theories.

One theory is "infantile amnesia". Sigmund Freud suggested memories are repressed due to their sexual and traumatic nature. The scientific world today rejects this idea.

Another theory, explains it as not having any language skills. The thought behind this is, if there are no language skills, we cannot form any memories. Not sure science backs this up either.

There is the theory, we can't remember our first years because our brains had not developed the necessary equipment. Still only a theory.

In response to Eric Vance Walton's Steemit Blockchain Memory Project, I'll share some of my earliest memories.

It's of living in a little white house my parents bought not long after they married. My dad would work at his job, come home and work on remodeling the house. Mom had quit her job as a telephone operator when I came along, so she was a full time mother and housewife.

I remember the first black and white TV we ever owned and getting to watch cartoons on it. My uncle who had just immigrated from Italy would come to our house and switch the channel to cowboy shows, which made me scream and cry!

I loved to ride in the car when I was little. It was a big thrill and I also loved to pretend I was driving.

I had three good friends when we lived on 6th street. We were the four musketeers and ran up and down that street playing all day long. Together we learned to skate, play hide and seek, and jacks!

In those days, parents didn't worry about children outside playing and even walking to the store with other kids.

Memories fade, so I can only remember the name of one of those girls.

We moved from 6th street when I was six and I never saw them again. The only thing left is the picture. So sad!

On Sunday, we would dress up, go to church, then the grandparents for lunch. Sunday afternoons were for driving to different friends for visiting. It was the same ritual every Sunday and never varied.

Those are my earliest childhood memories from age 3 to 6. I'm surprised these memories haven't disappeared after all the years that have passed! I'm so glad they are still there!

Hope you enjoyed this memory article and will join us with your own memories!

Remember,

Keep on the Sunnyside!

Photo # 1 Source
Photo # 2, 3, 4. Property of the author

Sort:  

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @sunnieside!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

I was just thinking about my childhood days when I saw it. All the theories has a possibilities. And indeed, "Memories are the most beautiful pictures, out minds can paint and nothing ever can erase them."
Personally, I can remember some of my kiddy scenarios when I was three. With the additional of my photos took by my parents, I love reminiscing the past. <3

Yes, three is about the usual age that most people can remember. After that, memories do seem to become clearer. Thanks for reading!

Wow this is really a great post =)
Thank you so much for sharing this with us ..

Thanks for taking the time to read!

I have an early memory of being laid in a crib and a wooden toy train placed in front of me. I was on a screened sleeping porch at my Grandparent's house and a kind black woman was caring for me. Real dim....but I couldn't have been 1 yet. That's early!

Great post @sunnieside! As always!

Yeah, I'd have to say if you remember something before age 1, that's amazing! Thanks for reading once again and your comment!

Wonderful story and good article to get me thinking.

I can piece together little snip-its and scenes from childhood which I often wonder if they are real and what was the whole picture that allows me to recall just a moment?

My best early memory is living with our Great-Grandma, 'Granny', sitting in her living room with a TV tray, eating a hotdog and applesauce, watching a 15 minute version of Love of Life. Black and white of course.

Fun stuff, memories.

Memories are great fun! Sometimes, I have to reach deep back and pull them out, but they are still there under all the other rubble! Thanks for reading my post @nananini ! I appreciate your comment also!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67