CYBERPUNK: AI, Hybrids and Humans (an original story)

in #story6 years ago




IMAGE SOURCE


CYBERPUNK: AI, Hybrids and Humans



In a world where AI rules, my existence is that of a pest. In the past, people used to rule the world and AI was just a tool to make our lives better. Why do I know this? Well, I accidentally came across something that's already obsolete today. In the past, they called it "newspaper". It has some pictures and scribbles on it.

According to my grandpa, newspapers were no longer needed when he was a kid. It has already been replaced by computers which are more updated. He said, it weren't the people who write the news but AI. What they capture from their camera were automatically processed into a news report, It was detailed and unbiased. So, little by little, people didn't have any value in this field.

Not only in that field... be it low-tier or high-tier jobs, people were no longer needed. Why? Because we're driven by emotion and these emotions can be considered as a disadvantage. Feelings are unnecessary.

AIs are absolute and unflawed unlike people. They don't get sick and would not even feel minute fatigue. Because of this, people wanted to transform. They wanted to be like those emotionless machines... and so they did.

Hybrid is what they call them; half-human and half-robot. They're usually from the rich and powerful class who are never satisfied. They seek more power so as not to be labeled as one of the lowest class. Although they're half-human, somehow, there's no more "humanity" left in them.

One time, I was walking in the 75th alley. It's the only place where commoners like me are allowed to stay. We are forbidden from entering other places that are used by hybrids and AI for some unknown reasons, but I'm guessing they're actually quite scared of us. Anyway that time, I saw some hybrid kids bullying a boy.

"Hey! Give me back my soccer ball!" The boy shouted, his eyes following the ball as it flew from one hybrid to another.

"Tell us! What's so fun about this thing? You loser kid!"

"Right? In our alley, we don't need this. We just press a button and we're able to see and experience a real-life soccer. We even can compete against people from all over the world!" The other kid bragged.

Without waiting for an answer, they squeezed the soccer ball using their robotic hands and threw it to the poor boy's face before teleporting somewhere.

I was broken hearted but I couldn't move from where I was. Aside from the barrier those hybrid kids set up earlier, I felt that my knees are all wobbly. I was too scared. However, I gathered my remaining strength because I wanted to comfort the boy.

I was about to go near him when I heard him mumble something. "You will never find happiness in a fake world. The real world might be tough, but at least what we feel and experience are proof that we are alive." He started sobbing, "Your world which is only being run by your stupid mind and computer will not last long. A machine is bound to be destroyed but humans are bound to rise up again and again."

Hearing those words from the boy made me realize that the world might have changed but being human remains in the deepest part of our hearts. We musn't give up. Someday, this place that's ruled by AI and hybrids will come back to its rightful owners.


@tegoshei

Sort:  

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

This post has received a 4.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @tegoshei.

Thank you for entering my contest!

You're welcome... It was interesting trying out a different genre for stories. ^^

Get a free Bible for your phone, tablet, and computer. bible.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61390.40
ETH 2913.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64