The Ways Of The Unfaithful [Episode 21]

in #story6 years ago

Six months later we were all back in the city after my mummy was through mourning my father. The police were still coming in one's and twos and promising to track down the murderers.

You must always contact us anytime you hear anything, the inspector in charge of the case told my mother one evening.

From where I sat in the compound, I couldn't help laughing. The entire investigation seemed to me like a huge joke.

image
Link

The police had simply abandoned the culprit and was looking elsewhere.
It didn't bother me what the outcome of their investigation would be. I'd already made up mind not to talk to anyone about it. But most times at nights, it pricked me and the guilt sent sharp shivers down my spine. My father could have been alive if I'd told him that evening about the telephone conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63