Surrendered - Episode Four

in #story6 years ago

"What?" Craig turned. It was the voice quite all right, loud, clear and undisputable. But the message was not right. Had there been a mix up? Because he was sure it could not be him. 

But the Voice re-echoed.

"Thou shall have no other gods before me." 

"Lord, wh… wha… what do you mean?" he stuttered, thrown off balance by the magnanimity of the accusation. Ever since taking in the Life of God, Craig had been so much in Love with the Lord. He had lived his life by the very dictates of His words, following every instruction to the letter. How could God accuse him of this? God had been the main guy all along, no sides.  

"Lord, I have followed hard after you from the day I knew you. You know. I have no idea about this. I was never an idol worshipper, I've never done anything fetish. Why would you say I was cheating on you? And with who? Which other god?"  

"gods Son, other gods" 

Craig breathed hard and listened on in silence. 

"Son, you missed the order of things a long time ago when you substituted the gifts for the giver. You had held my gaze a long time but gradually, you moved from the creator to his creation. I watched your heart slip away after the blessings I laced your life with. It didn't happen all at once, for if it had you would have retraced your way. You have put gods before you, which you consult before doing my will and by whom you define your existence. How come son, whenever we discuss the first thing you are eager to do is see if the decision is okay by your other gods. In the event that it is, you happily see to the decision and delude yourself into thinking you were so submissive. Where the opinions clash, you eventually do as we agreed and then wear such a long face afterwards that one would think I was the most-wicked father ever. Now answer me. Have I ever asked you to do something and it killed you?" "No Lord, I'm sorry" Craig replied. 

"Not yet son. You need to know what you are sorry for so that you don't fall into ungodly sorrows over a thing for which I neither take offence nor take record. For as you well know, your sins have been forgiven, paid for in full. As such, I can never be angry with you.   Son, why don't you trust that the plans I have for you is your expected end? Why do you have to keep trying to work things out on your own knowing fully well that I have the blueprint, all the maps of where you are going and the best possible routes to get there in good time? And whenever I ask you to follow a path, it is because I've been down that road before! I think someone needs a little more faith here. Will it not be unfair of me if I demanded of you what I myself couldn't do?" 

Craig was tongue tied. He hadn't seen this before. God was right. Well, was He ever wrong? Now he was beginning to be really sorry. He now understood. So many gods; his pride, his job, his immediate family, and sitting on top of this list, was Didi. . . the chief 'other god'… 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55