My (Steemit) journey and life story

in #story7 years ago (edited)

What is my Story?

Steemians I am now active here since January 2017 so celebrating my 4 months of active community participation and thought to write a bit more about myself as I did in my official introduction months ago. A lot happened with the platform, the currency, the people - here a bit about your German fellow Steemian that can not stop writing about strange topics such as Beer, Sports, Dance and still tries the hell to educate all of you about the benefits of photography challenges.

Happy with Steemit

I am really glad to here on this platform, I met a lot new friends and enjoy content and the cryptoworld. The Steem potential is massive in my view and I hope we will grow altogether. I hope to achieve my milestones of 500 followers and 10k Steempower hopefully in June and to recruit some more great content creators for the platform.

Who am I - what is my life and Steemit story?

I will keep it short and simple. On Steemit I write about too many different topics but I am interested in a lot different topics, hence I can not be seen only as Beer, Soccer or German only lol - I also try to engage as much as possible with others and introduce the platform also to other non Steemians. Engagement and Interaction are key to maintain a successful social media Infrastructure - hence I am already over 5,000 posts (including) comments here. I will not bother you with links to all my posts here no worries - just adding some photos from my Steemit journey if I may.

You majored in what?!

When I started university I passed a full 30 months vocational training in a bank. I was quite sure this is not what I would like to do for the rest of my life. My dream has been a rather common thing, becoming a Rock Star or a famous football player. Studying Sports was in my mind but my understanding of biology and chemistry was near to nothing. Studying Music as next option did not work out as well as I was not able to play 2 different musical instruments.

It is Your Life - You only have one!

My parents have been keen for me to continue a career as a banker, safe job, well-respected rather than becoming one of these lazy students with long hair that do nothing else as party, drink and nonsense. Banker was too boring – now here on Steemit I would probably benefit from that – shame on me!

What direction should I take?

Anyway – usually if you do not know what to do you study (international) economics. My major was listed as undeclared. Everyone told me it was a mistake to tick that box, but I did it anyways. Why? Because I wanted to explore different options at least within the broad field of economy. Learned a lot in Organisation, Controlling, Finance, Marketing and more in an international environment and found my calling in marketing (sales) especially also via work experience I gathered during university time. Strangely grade wise marketing was my worst area so it was very clear to me I could say GoodBye to a Marketing Job.

Don't give up your dreams

Anyway – I finished studies – best grades I had in Controlling, applied for a job and ended up – IN A BANK – not again. It was in the investment space of a major known bank but the job was so booooring – still did not give up and found a job finally in Public Relations – never wrote anything at all before. Still no idea why I got that job as PR consultant – maybe because when I started there communications has not been a major at universities and the company was desperate to find anyone – Me!

The rest is history – I still work for that company (now almost 18 years) and built up our marketing, PR and sales across Europe. Today I can confirm with confidence (for all you undeclared students out there), your major has little to do with the type of career you can succeed in later.

Skills can be translated, attitude cannot

Unless you’re considering a profession that needs specific education – nowadays in most countires of the world you can choose any major and break into other career fields. Important is motivation, ambition and the drive. Skills can be learned and trained – but it is our attitude that makes the difference.

This is my Story - my path - what is yours!?

Photos from myself and Pixabay

Sort:  

Sehr guter Artikel Uwe.

Danke Du Licht meines Wochenendes :-)! Bin dann mal Currywurst Essen, Posten macht hungrig

Hahaha. Guten Appetit :-)

Danke, Curry war aus leider :-(

Wonderful post! And I'm of complete support in having Munich-based Steem events... Pröst!

Thanks a lot - join us next week in Munich @hansikhouse!

Sehr schöner Post, Uwe! Ich finde das Titelfoto schon großartig.
Auf weitere erfolgreiche Steemit-Monate :-)

Lieben Dank und dito Surfer Prinzessin

Happy for you and your crew Uwe.

Thanks buddy - appreciated

Amazing post and attitude! I am with you! i will follow your path!
Follow me to fully experience LIFE through travels and troubles: Wild sports, family and criptocurrencies fullfill my free time. Steem On!

Just a sample of happiness and me...

https://steemit.com/life/@marcosespes1/secrets-from-tenerife-nobody-told-you-about-change-your-mindset

Thanks a lot, following you too! Namaste

Great introduction post. I upvoted and follow. See you around! :-)

Thanks mate

I never went to "university", I went to the French Naval Academy and became a Navy officer.

After 20 years in the Navy, I started working in a software house. 6 years later I emigrated to Vancouver, Canada, to work as a software engineer.
And for the last 15 years, I have been working for a great software company that allows me to work at home or anywhere in the world, as long as I have an Internet connection.

So, yes, I agree with you: you never know where you will end up eventually, and your attitude is very important to find your dream job.

Now that is a great story of life, exciting and challenging both I assume!

Absolutely. And if you read the Story of my Life you will learn about it. I published Part 19 two days ago.

I am certainly reading that series! Thanks and I might get back to you with questions

Great story, very encouraging and motivating!

thanks a lot for this lovely feedback, glad to hear

Fascinating backstory @uwelang. You kept searching for what you wanted and you got it. Good stuff man! :)

Thanks a lot - who knows, sometimes you feel that idea "what might have i missed?" - for now all happy

Being happy, and that's all that really matters :)

Super tolle Story Uwe! So nice knowing you !

Danke Dir, das ist lieb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70906.64
ETH 3802.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45