Vincent is in Binic, Part 1/3, by @vincentleroy (translated from French)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): Vincent est à Binic (épisode 1/3)

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.


Vincent came to spend the weekend in Binic, from the network to Steemit to real life
Part 1

I know you like stories, so I'll tell you one. That of this weekend where my friend Vincent @vcelier returned to see me in Binic for a few days this time with a very precise request: can we sail on Saturday?

This weekend, however, we are preparing with my friend Philippe the regatta next weekend: the Binicaise, two rounds of three hours minimum. This time no son and no Plouf. We will take Philippe's flirt 600 completely redone. (600 is not complicated, it's 6 meters).



Tit & Sam, the flirt 600 with Vincent on his arrival

Vincent is due to arrive on Friday afternoon but I do not know exactly when. With Philippe, we are on the pontoon, some settings on the genoa and especially installation of a sock for the spinnaker. I told Vincent that he was sleeping at home, and of course his bedroom, his bathroom are already ready. When the phone rings ...

He has arrived and it is only 3PM. I tell him where the pontoon is and he joins us. The navy, he is not lost. A commander on the team, we should be fine. I explain that the small trip on the water will be longer than expected. we will have lunch at Gwin Zegal and return to the port of Saint Quay! In short, at 5PM, all is globally mounted even if we are unconvinced of the effectiveness of the sock set up. So I let Philippe finish and we go to Pordic to show him Plouf 3, our new big 8,70m boat that we are going to renovate this winter.



Plouf3 before the beginning of its restoration

There indeed, it is not the same size. Even though Phil's boat is habitable, it's still a very small boat, the Dufour 2800, it's a real habitable sailboat: cabin, bathroom, toilet and especially a real kitchen! So certainly, we will change it a little bit but overall, it's a house on the water! In short, it is time to go put his car in Saint-Quay to be able to return tomorrow afternoon.

Vincent is vegan. It's like that, I adapt and here we are cooking at home, it's an early bed and it's good too! 9:30, the meal is engulfed and everyone go to bed. 5:30, we meet again in the kitchen, we did however meet at 9:30 on the pontoon! But we continue to tell our stories ...

Vincent is like me, he is a chilly one. So I equip it accordingly. Me, I do not risk anything, I have my technical underwear, three layers and I have either my simple jacket or my sea jacket. No need of sea pants, they tell us that we will have a shower of sun. In contrast, the winds are expected calm or very calm in the morning and rising around 13:00.



The sea just outside of the harbor

At 9:55, the doors are open and the boat slips into the channel. We are not alone in going out. Obviously with such weather, it's the traffic jam to get out of the harbor. Past the lighthouse, we'll have to make a reason: there is almost no wind. And as often in such cases, the little breath is turning. We send the spinnaker but we have to admit that this is not very useful, besides the three big boats that have made the same choice are fast flaking. Decision is taken, we keep the mainsail and we start the engine to see if it's better a little more off ...



@vcelier



Philippe



Selfie (@vincentleroy)

Continue to Part 2



Sort:  

Hope you enjoyed binic @vcelier

@vcelier, Greetings from the tip of Indonesia, I am @nurhayati from Aceh. Hopefully we can get to know each other, wrongly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95