MY BABY GIRL’S WAEC ESSAY: A BIRD IN HAND IS WORTH TWO IN THE BUSH

in #story6 years ago

The story below is a WAEC essay written today by my little sweetheart, Favour:

IMG-20180412-WA0053.jpg

"As a little lass growing up in the village amongst my fellow girls, I noticed one thing was common among them all which was to settle down for the best when it comes to choosing a marriage mate. They forgot that a bird in hand is worth two in the bush.

The story is about Ngozi, one of my friends in the village. Ngozi was a very beautiful girl and as a result, many men came seeking her hand in marriage but she wanted the best, a man who was very rich and also handsome. This made her to refuse lots of marriage proposals that came along.

This was often the case and it made us not to let Ngozi come close to us or anywhere around us because whenever she was there, men keep getting attracted to her and then do not pay any attention to us despite the fact that we were all ripe for marriage.

Years came and went and Ngozi was not yet married because of what she expected in a marriage. We on the other hand were married with children and shelter over our heads and with our basic necessities such as food. Then one day I heard that she had accepted one proposal. And that the man was very rich and also handsome as she expected. But this marriage proposal was over the internet to a guy who lived abroad, who was her so called ‘Prince charming’. While all these were happening, she was still getting marriage proposals from men who came along, whom she could see and they were doing quite well. But all her mind was on her “Prince charming” whom she had never seen.

Finally, Ngozi was thirty years old and still is not married. Right now, she is looking like someone who is going to have a heart attack because of the way her life had turned out not knowing whether she was still going to get married or not. When I travelled to the village recently, I met Ngozi after a long time ago. When I met her, she was devastated and then she looked at me and said “had I known I would have grabbed the opportunities I had to get married, perhaps I would have had a family of my own right now. Further she said truly “a bird in hand is worth two in the bush”. Where the bird in the bush was her so-called Prince charming, who lived abroad, that she was expecting to marry her."

As written by my little girl – Favour
IMG-20180412-WA0054.jpg

Sort:  

This should be a true life story cause it has happened to many women, they're there waiting for Prince Charming and finally what did they gain? Heart break. Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73