Self-made. Ep 2

in #story5 years ago

I brought in the last bits of wood and put them inside Mamma's kitchen. I then came out into the compound and waited for the goats to come home. It was strange that not even the heavy rain had driven them home this evening. I hoped that no one had stolen them.


image source

While I waited, I tried to think about the best time during the evening to tell my father about my school fees. Talking to Dede about money was not an easy thing and very often Mamma spoke on our behalf.
I had still not found a solution to this problem when Enyibe, my elder brother's mate from the next village, rushed into our compound like someone pursued by a mad man who wandered around our village in tattered loin clothes asking for food and money, was in the neighborhood. Enyibe whispered into my ears.

'You must take your sister away quickly and the two of you should hide in the house and lock the door' Enyibe suggested.
'But I cannot do that...' I began.
'Why?' He interrupted me.
'Because I have to make sure that all the goats come home, then close the barn door' I answered.
'Then take your little sister inside the house!' He shouted.
'And lock her in like the goats?' He was quieter now. 'Are you going to follow me? My father is at home. He can look after all of us.'
'I thank you, Enyibe. but I don't think I should leave our house. I think we shall just pray that Onye Ara does not find his way when he approaches our house' I told Enyibe.

To be continued.

This post is original and it was imported from whaleshares, and posted on weku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61046.72
ETH 2926.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69