Self-made. Ep 6Self-made. Ep 6

in #story5 years ago (edited)


image source

Suddenly I was startled by the sound of the goats bleating at the gate of the compound. I went quickly to let them in. They trooped in slowly, chewing happily with their bulging stomachs swaying from side to side. Like Nnenna they did not worry about the mad man. I counted them: seven in all, safely home. I herded them into the barn and secured the gate with a long wooden bar.

'Dene,' Nnenna called, startling me again. Every sound seemed to startle me since I heard about Onye Ara.
'Yes?'
'Why did you stop us from building our sand house?' She asked, looking sad.
'Because it was getting dark,' I answered.
'But we could still see what we were.'
'It was getting cold, too. And the sandflies were biting you and your friends,' I added.
'But I was not cold,' Nnenna insisted, ignoring the sand flies.
'Your friends were cold.'
'Did they say so?'
'I noticed that they were shivering,' I explained.
'Did you touch their bodies to know that they were cold?'
'I did not have to touch their bodies. I could see it.'
'Can you see cold?'
'I can't. No one can. But you can see when someone is cold.'
'Dene.'
'Yes?'
'Will you let us go and play again? We want to finish our sand house, please.' I wished I could let her.
'I have said no!'

To be continued.

This post is original and it was imported from whaleshares, and posted on weku.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zanny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @zanny! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56