You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Role Archetypes: The Mentor (4/10)

in #storytelling5 years ago

Great post. Super imortant notions. I'm glad to read this in the context of video games. Fascinating.

I think these lines accurately summarize mentorship.

The Mentor helps to ensure that the Hero survives to reach the other side of the story in such a state that they can be welcomed back into society and take on a role of responsibility or leadership within it.

If only kids had these concepts taught both at home and at school. That would surely help them see the difference among the many archetypes they'll meet in real life.

Sort:  

I'm always happy to hear people's feedback (especially positive, but I try to take criticism well too). There's a lot of storytelling that exists just outside the reach of ordinary people (and, I suspect, even some professional storytellers) and has deep psychological meaning.

In my day job, I do teach them at school; this is actually a beefed-up version of the curriculum I use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87