Strawberry on the top

in #strawberryweek6 years ago

preuzmi.jpg


You may have heard of the cherry on the top but I prefer strawberries much more. So to wrap up the #strawberryweek I decided to share some of our favourite desserts. I am notorious for eye bowling all of my cooking (except brownies. I really need them to be fudgy so I have to be precise) so I got a helping hand from Mr Google in case you wanted to try something out.


ana pece kekse.jpg


There are of course many strawberry classics like strawberry shortcake, Victoria sponge cake, mille feuille, strawberry pie, all kinds of truffles or a classic strawberry cheescake we have yet to bake. You can even do a ffull-blown giant strawberry cake.


marmelada.jpg


Strawberry Jam

The best way to preserve strawberries, or any fruit you have too much of, is to turn it into jam. Especially for crape enthusiasts like ourselves. I did not make any this year but my mother in law did so I searched for the recipe online. I found this lovely recipe on bbc food. Strawberry jam is a great addition to yoghurt or porridge and can be an excellent upgrade to many, many desserts. Like, say plane vanilla muffins with jam heart.


keksi.jpg


Strawberry Jam Cookies

I personally used a chocolate chip cookie recipe but instead of stirring in the chips, in the end, I stirred in some strawberries yam. I did however found this great recipe for strawberry jam cookiese which I'm eager to try because we have lots of jam this year. You can also use the strawberry jam to make traditional sugar cookies and glue them together or put a spoon of it into vanilla icing to make the strawberry icing.


chia puding.jpg


Chia Pudding with Strawberries

Chia pudding is a brand new discovery to me. And I love it. Mostly because it's fast. It has such a soothing taste and a slimy texture I love. reminds me of tapioca pudding which I love. The neutral taste of the pudding alone goes great with all kinds of fruits, nuts and spices and that is especially true with strawberries. Healthy, fast, pretty, testy...it's a winner dessert.


popsticle.jpg


Strawberry Popsicles

The popsicle mold is one of the best things I ever bought. All it takes is a cup or two of fruit and some patience and you have a great refreshing dessert (or as in our case breakfast). I have this base I often use: yoghurt, bananas and chia seeds and then I just add on to that. I love this channel on YouTube named Bigger Bolder Baking that has all kinds of recipes for popsicles. I also tend to make the same yoghurt mixture for a container and just mix it through every so often as it frizzes. I also do an ombre by adding a tad more yoghurt to one third and a spoon of strawberry jam to another third for different shades of pink. And when you add some chia to it, it actually reminds you of strawberry seeds. Also, if you ad a spot of warm wastewater a cup of jam you get a nice drizzle for your ice cream


collage.jpg


What do you think about the post? Tell me about it in the comments!

Do you like strawberries or are you one of those, in my free estimation two people in the world, who don't like them? What memories do you have that are tied to strawberries? I'd love to hear from you!

Stay tuned for all things Strawberry, you might be surprised what comes out of it. If you have anything Strawberry I missed out on, link it or if you plan on doing anything use a #strawberryweek hashtag so I can find you. Buckle up...here we go!

Check out my other #strawberryweek posts:

Strawberry Week Intro
Strawberry
Strawberry #happday
Wild Strawberry
Strawberry Art
Life Lessions from Strawberry Picking


jagodetjedan.jpg


Sort:  

Congratulations @big.mama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

Great post, very organised and looks neat. Love how you added a border around the images!

Thank you so much! I've learned it from my friend @dumar022 but there is much room for progress in formatting.

How did you go about doing that ? I gave you a follow! Would love to work together

Thank you for the follow.


You write _ _ _ witout the spaces: ___ at the start of a row.


Would love a return !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99