We Are Pickled Minds

I was doing some digital housekeeping this morning when I came across this photo. The scene was shot on Brick Lane, London with my favourite film camera of all time - the Olympus 35 RC and AgfaPhoto Vista 200 Plus.

The scene is of a busking band, and it appears something had amused three of the members to the right. The man smoking and holding the microphone is actually a beat-boxer who at the point of the shot was taking a little break while the sax and guitar sounds filled the air.

51730007.JPG

What I didn't notice at the time of taking the photo, which amused me to no end after getting the photo developed, was the drunk superhero to the right of the frame. He's apparently bent the lamp post with just one hand and had done a super-puke. Can you imagine if Superman ever got drunk and threw up?

That is one of the joys of analog photography that is so hard to replicate - the surprises that you sometimes get after the fact. Had it been a digital camera, I would probably have noticed the shot straight away, because I'd be able to see it immediately on the LCD, even if I didn't realise it at the point of pressing the shutter.

I was so focused on the band, that I didn't realise what else was going on in the frame. Also, because I was shooting in full manual mode, all the settings were up to me, so I had to focus pretty hard (no pun intended).

As a minor side-point, the human perception isn't to be trusted. Can you imagine if I was asked to give witness in court in a case depending on if or not I "saw a drunk man walk by the band"? I'd probably testify in the negative, and I'd be wrong!



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

An interesting photo, really, when we are passionate about something, we do not notice what is happening under our nose

Jajaja! I thought this picture and your comment were great. I think you weren't the only one who didn't notice the drunk, the whole band is in theirs. It's amazing what you can get on computers that store photo files from before digital cameras. They only wanted to capture the moment, without noticing the postures, the ugliness, among other details. Nowadays you can manipulate the photograph until you get the perfect photo.
In my computer, I keep photos that surprise! A hug, @adetorrent

So funny! It look like the lightpost has had its fair share of drunks holding on!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, superhero in deed!
Great photo with the perfect timing.

I have seen them recently but without the puke-man addition. They are not bad :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95