Sort:  

I don't know @molometer; could mean so many things. I look at it and the postures of the people seem... sad, dejected, tired. The boat itself looks a little delapidated... maybe it's a reflection on the overall run down feeling of much of the world; maybe it's even a lifeboat.

Ultimately, I guess the artist "succeeded," because it evoked something; now we're here, talking about it!

Interesting comments @reddragonfly you are right. If this gets us thinking about what it means. Then the artist has achieved something.

I don't know what it means @molometer but I think the people in the boat look really sad. They look dejected and like they have to leave but don't want to. 😢

I think that our personal response to any art is valid.
What it says to you is very interesting. @gillianpearce

What did it say to you @molometer? 😊

I'm reserving my opinion until the end of the 7 days when I will reveal all. I don't want to influence anyone's viewpoint. :)

When I first saw this art work I thought of the current refugee crisis in the Mediterranean.

Secondly I thought about all the rogue bankers getting a lifeboat while everyone else was left to drown. Primarily because of it's location near the City of London financial area.

It turns our my first guess was correct.

This location (Spitalfields) was chosen because of the successive waves of refugees that have lived here over the centuries.
The sculpture represents human dignity and everyone's right to freedom and dignity.

The title of the work is.

Wooden boat with seven people

The artist is a Greek woman named Kalliopi Lemos and this piece of art was made from the boat that was used by refugees escaping from Turkey to Greece which she acquired from where it was abandoned on a beach in Greece.

In the video below the artist explains her philosophical position and how it influences her art.

Source

Self upvoted for visibility.

Art for arts sake is fine and all, but sometimes there is a clear meaning or story. Like here for example. It's unmistakable.

After crashing their flying saucer near Southend-on-Sea, Nordak and the other Venusians quickly stole a small boat to make good their escape.

Let's go up to Londinium said Nordak. It was a quaint village when last we were here, 2,000 years ago. I'm sure nothing much has changed...

Now that is what I call an explanation Kieth. Succinct and to the point and completely plausible. The river is only a stone's throw from where this object is and I can quite easily see how these Venusian's with their superior technology would have no problems getting the boat ashore and up Broadgate. Please accept a 100% upvote for your excellent art critique. ;)

Thank you sir! I imagine that Nordak was still hung up on that Roman girl from down at the pub... Flavia? No, wait... Antonia!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T22:13:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 699.85/200.00
Total Photos: 109
Total comments: 39
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.23 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

spectacular work of art friend @molometer. I wish you a good night friend you are greeted from Venezuela.

Thank you Edgar, glad you enjoyed this piece of art. Goodnight to you too. Greetings from England.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95