Caring For The Ghats

in #streetphotography6 years ago

varanasi-sweep-2.jpg

The ghats (steps that lead to the Ganges River) in Varanasi are bustling places full of drying laundry, holy cows, beggars, feral dogs, boys flying kites, sahdus (holy men) and – everywhere you look – vibrant colors contrasting the grey stone of the steps themselves.

I was struck by how often I encountered this scene or similar – someone quietly caring for a narrow stretch of steps, looking strikingly beautiful as she did so.


camera: Canon EOS 5D Markii
lens: 85mmf1.2L Prime
specs: ISO 100 - f2.8 - 1/1000 sec
date: 3 December 2009

Sort:  

Cool photo! The colors especially are what drew us in. Congrats, you've been resteemed by our page!

Thank you! I sincerely appreciate it! ⭐️

Good photo, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

I love it! Thanks for the window to such an important place to so many people!

Thank you! There'll be a lot more India and Nepal in the coming weeks/months. ;)

Nice pic !

Super nice!!! I love how colorful India is.

Thank you! Likewise – I had a hard time coming home....

Great shot! We didn't make it to Varanasi the last time we were in India. I'd like to one day.

You must go! It's incredibly intense, but well worth the trip.

It is bright and unusual photo!

seen this from @photofeed, lovely shoot

Varanasi is such an incredible city, so photogenic
And vibrant. With all kinds of intense and contrastif emotions... Definitely one of my favourite places to visit in India! 🙏🏽

So, so true! I've often referred to it as the city of Shadows & Kites...such contrasting truths existing simultaneuously. please follow @zipporah (I've relocated) for more photos like this!

Nice, followed you there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73