You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beautifully Sublime- After the frost

The frosts take out so many things, so quickly. We have not had a hard frost here yet, but I'm sure it won't be a lot longer .

I don't have asters so I didn't know they were frost resistant. Hostas are some of the first to go. Funny how their foliage is so sensitive, but their bulbs survive so nicely and pop up every spring.

Sort:  

These asters have been pretty tough. They even survive that one blast of snow that we had. It took me awhile to get a bed of hostas growing here, because the deer kept eating them off and they never had a chance to grow. I finally started using some deer repellent around them that seems to work because they've done nicely the past few years.

I've had the green with white striped hosta for years, dragging a few bulbs from place to place when I move while leaving some behind for the next occupants. Two years ago I bought a few bulbs of a larger, lighter solid green that came up well, to cover where their was space between the ground and a small shed. Part way through the summer though, the deer, who I had never seen the two years before that I lived there, ate them down to the ground. I still brought some of the bulbs with me last year and so far.... the deer haven't eaten them here.

They must be quite tasty. :) Don't tell the deer over here ! :)

We just call them Deer Salad.

LOL.... .Might as well !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.67
ETH 3086.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86