Sublime Sunday Ships

in #sublimesunday5 years ago (edited)

I saw this painting of an old sailing ship on the wall at a marina and I thought wouldn't it be sublime to see something like that for real?

0yl5j11y3t.jpg

That might be difficult to arrange, but I set out to photograph boats and ships of every type, big and small, and I thought it might make a nice post for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a. Let me show you what I found...

I'll start out by taking a walk down by the new lift bridge. You can usually spot some cool ships from there.

swdt4ixrj4.jpg

Turning to the left, let's see what's in the Port Hope Shipyard at the moment...

lpwq1oxq8s.jpg

They rebuild all sorts of things there. Recently they had a contract to refurbish warships for the Royal New Zealand Navy. Those are big ships... this thing looks like a fishing trawler, a pretty good size one too. (Trawler... does that sound right? I think so...)

h9f869pgfy.jpg

Stopping in the middle of the bridge I got a shot of a couple of schooners. These are the Pacific Grace and the Pacific Swift. In the right corner of the photo, you can see some water taxis, known locally as pickle boats.

ew7e0mfevo.jpg

On the far side of the bridge, I took a shot looking back. Here you can see the water taxis in the foreground and another look at fishing trawler which is being repaired.

yk4st5tjwr.jpg

Down on the pier near the water taxis, I spotted these guys in kayaks. When they saw my camera they asked me to take a photo. I agreed and they went back out a little ways, then came towards me when I said go.

6ni9lwxbkv.jpg

They told me they ran a kayak school and rental business and they needed a good photo. I gave them my business card and emailed them a copy of this last shot - low resolution and watermarked. I let them know they could have the full resolution photo very cheap if they liked it. Honestly, I would have sold this for $20. I'm not greedy.

Naturally, I never heard from them again. Is there something wrong with the photo? You tell me... I figure these days everyone, including businesses, expects photography to be for FREE. Ain't that just sublime? No, I didn't think so either... but the walk was pretty cool, so I'll call that a Sublime Sunday.

You can click any of the photos for a full-screen view. Thanks for taking a look. I hope you're having a great weekend. :-)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you, @pixresteemer!

44meter boat Raw Spirit.
Looks like an impressive port!

Oh, thank you! Obviously, you're someone who knows about these things.

I spend my time by the sea.
lots of fishing by my area, so I always look up boats, sail, power, fleet boats

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Awesome photos and very lovely photoshoot..my dear friend

Thank you very much, @moniroy :-)

Love the schooners. What are you gonna do? everything should be free...except for kayak lessons I expect lol

I know, right? I'm sure kayak lessons must be free! ;-)

Ships and small boats are in a league of there own and we really hardly take much notice of them but they can be the most luxurious and expensive toy a man can own i am sure i would love to own one.

And those kayak guys don't what there missing out on double the price if they happen to call you...lol :)

Thank you and I'll tell them what you said if they call :-) Honestly, if I was any kind of a salesman I'd go down to their office with a print to show them... but I'm not a salesman.

Haha...good but they will be the losers :)

ha! free photos! why not? wow, that's crazy. But those are some great shots sir Keith!

FREE photos, that's what people want. There are websites with millions of brilliant photos for free. Better stuff than I'll ever do. Photographers are just shooting themselves in the foot when they participate in such things. Kayak lessons and rentals cost money though, that's for sure! Thanks a lot, my friend!

Howdy again sir Keith! Hey so these sites like pixel and pixabay do they pay good money for people's photos? Or you're saying photographers give too many photos away by making them free online?

Well, I don't think Pixabay gives the photographer anything at all. How could they, they don't charge a cent. I just downloaded a photo from them of Peyto Lake, Alberta. No charge, free for commercial use, no attribution required... doesn't say who the photographer is. Nobody cares. That's THEIR rules, I'm not making it up. Here's the photo, it's a really good one:

peyto-lake-1272075_1920.jpg

I mention this because I just posted my own photo for a contest here... here's my post:

https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@keithboone/landscape-seascape-contest-week-015

If you look, you'll see that they look pretty similar. They're both taken from the same visitor viewing platform, that's obvious to me. So is the free picture as good as mine? It's probably better in my opinion. It's got nicer clouds in any case. It's got nicer light. So with all that said, how am I going to try to sell mine?

My photo is legit - I tell you the camera settings, I can tell you the date and time. So what? How could it be sold when Pixabay will give you the one above for free? One answer to that is I have the full high-resolution image, which means I could print mine larger. Most people wouldn't give a hoot. I've sold lots of stock photos. The most I ever got for stock is about $0.30.

wow sir Keith..that's interesting and for what it's worth I think your photo is better because the water looks more like a lake with different shades, the pixabay lake looks almost fake with mostly one solid color. Plus I like the mountains against the solid blue sky of yours and your's has that person sitting there which gives some perspective of size and distance. But that's just my 2 bit opinion.
The most you ever sold a stock photo for is 30 cents? wow, that just sounds so wrong!

Well, thank you for that. The idea of stock is that the same photo can sell over and over if it's a good one, but I wouldn't even bother to submit my photo to a stock agency. In fact, I don't send them any photos at this point because it's not worth my time. In my opinion, online photography is basically dead. You can still sell physical prints, framed prints, canvas prints. I don't bother with stock anymore. That's just me, what do I know? I'm clearly not much of a businessman. It's like if Chevy starts to give away trucks for free, who is going to buy a Ford F150?

I understand and agree sir keith. I'm sure glad free photos are available to us non photographers but I can see what it does to pros who would like to sell photos. I'm glad the old vintage ones don't cost!

It's a matter of vast over-supply and low demand relatively speaking. I read an article from 2014 which said that 1.8 billion photos were being posted online every day. That was in 2014, it must be way more now. So that completely changes photography, it can't be helped. A photo has got to be insanely good to have any inherent value and stand out in that kind of crowd.

Do you have any way to check up on them? They may have used the picture anyway. Would they have been able to cut out the watermark?

Yes, they could have chopped the watermark, but the file would look like crap if they tried to print it large. I'm a poor businessman, don't know how to sell or self-promote...

I have more than 25 years of experience as a graphic designer. I know from that experience that most people have no concept of how resolution or image quality work. You should have seen some of the stuff people would give you and expect you to work miracles.

Aaarrr that ship be full of Pirates! What an amazing painting, I love the orange colours in it, really inspires so many thoughts about life on the ocean waves.

The last photo for the Kayak school is fantastic, it would make such perfect advertising for them - you did the hard working getting that perfect photo and deserve to be paid for it - I'm surprised they never offered.

An amazing port for sure, we have nothing that would have such a diverse range of vessels in the UK so it's amazing to see you wonderful photos - thank you so much for sharing them for your #SublimeSunday

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks so much, @c0ff33a! As I've said to others, people today expect that photography should be FREE. Even when requesting a photo, those guys expected it to be for free, that's just how it goes. Glad you liked the photos, have a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94