Sublime Sunday Spinning Steel Wool

in #sublimesunday5 years ago (edited)

Sublime Sunday Spinning Steel Wool

This is a post for #SublimeSunday, created by @c0ff33a here is what he says about it

Welcome to #SublimeSunday a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy and instigated by me @c0ff33a

I think its such a cool and fun idea so I decided to join again this week and had fun this morning doing some creative edits, mostly I try and do realistic looking photos but I do have fun doing edits for this theme.

But this week for a change I didn't do any funky editing of the photos, the funky and or sublime stuff is done with long Exposures and steel wool.

1 Sublime steel Wool.jpg

Sony A6000 28mm F11 5 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



1 Sublime steel Wool-6.jpg
These were taken with a friend of mine who does Steel Wool Spinning

Steel Wool Spinning Photography, is achieved through Long Exposures to capture the motion of hot embers flying through the air while spinning burning Steel Wool.

Basically, he has Steel Wool at the end of a string, in this case in a Small Whisk which has been set on fire and then he spun the steel wool as I took photos.

This first one is on top of a tower near the Entrance to the Harbor

Sony A6000 23mm F22 1 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


This second one is taken on the edge of the water, not the best of effects in this one, but I did like how I caught the embers bouncing off the beach.

1 Sublime steel Wool-3.jpg

Sony A6000 16mm F11 1.3 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger)


This one I edited so you could clearly see Bryan Spinning the Steel wool

1 Sublime steel Wool-5.jpg

Sony A6000 16mm F11 13 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And for a different effect in this shot, Bryan was walking along the beahc towards me as I took this shot which gave a cool effect and you only see a ghostly effect of him.

1 Sublime steel Wool-2.jpg

Sony A6000 16mm F6.3 5 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



And for this last shot he had a friend who came along and held an umbrella so the embers were bouncing of it, at the time we didn't notice, but you can see the embers also bouncing of her legs, and she never said a thing about it as it took a few tries to get the shot we liked.

Please note

We were sensible when doing these shots, all the spinning was done over damp sand and no dry grass was anywhere near where we were doing the steel wool spinning, plus just in case we did have a Fire Extinguisher with us


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.210041 lat -73.052962 long Gulf Beach Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

I knew that steel wool would burn, I have used it in place of kindling wood to get fires started before and it burns really hot. I never thought about spinning it like you have done here but the resulting photos are really cool. Thanks for sharing and for the idea.

Yeah I had never thought of using it for this till I saw It on instagram one day and I had to try it myself
It was fun to do

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 296 (10/29/18)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sublime-sunday-spinning-steel-wool


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Photographs taken are simply amazing. It must be such an art to do this work. I am not sure but it looks a little risky also.

Thanks, its not risky if you are sensible, we did all the spinning on areas of the beach where the sand was damp and there was no dry grass around, plus we did also have a Fire Extinguisher with us to make sure all was safe

Ahaaa, it looks damn cool. I am sure it must have been fun. I am feeling a little amused cause I have never seen or heard anything like this before

I have only tried it twice and had such fun both times, this was the first try :)

Really outstanding photography, the first photo particularly is stunning with the combination of blue sky moving to sunset - and then the burning steel wheel colour.

It's really amazing how you can capture these light trails in a photograph using - it's amazing in the last photograph the umbrella did not set on fire!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks Mate
I did wonder that about the umbrella but as we had dampened it down a little before doing this shot it did not have any signs of burning on it at all

Thanks for hosting this challenge I love doing fun edits on a Weekend for these one :)

wow this is awesome photograph my friend..
I wish you a big victory in the contest!
All the best friend..

Thanks it was a really fun shoot to do

It was awesome. Not so long ago, too, experimented with such photos.

Wow these are amazing @tattoodjay, I've never heard of spinning steelwool, must be so exciting seeing the results! Just wow!

Ohh yeah I had a blast doing these shots was such fun experimenting to get the best results

i love the rings created, second last picture is my favorite. It awakens The Lord of The Rings fan in me 😀

Thanks for your thoughts it was so cool the different effects you can get doing these

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97