The Steemit Subreddit

in #subreddit6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

I wanted to make a post today asking for some help from the community on how to go forward with the Steemit subreddit. Currently it's me and @ausbitbank running it as moderators but we would be happy to invite some more trusted community members to it to bring some life to it. Most of the time it has only been used as the famous #postpromotion channel on steemit.chat and that's been sort of okay since Steemit exists, why would people spend time on the subreddit if they can use our platform instead. ;)

Still there has been a good amount of activity and subscribers building up on it, currently it looks like this:

We are planning on making it a bit more newcomer friendly for those stumbling onto it through other cryptocurrency and blockchain subreddits. We understand that there are users that might not directly go to Steemit.com after hearing about Steem, and even if they did they might have a hard time getting some questions answered that are on their mind at the time. We want to start off by adding flairs to submissions depending what they are about, here is an example on what it would look like:

This will help to filter through post-promotion submissions and general questions and news ones. Me and @ausbitbank have kept looking through it every now and then and there are often some questions about account-recovery or my favorite "where can I find my address to withdraw Steem to" as people are used to Bitcoin and Ethereum addresses and have a hard time realizing their username is.

The sidebar currently looks like this and has been updated with links to the new FAQ page:

With title flairs we also want to add user flairs starting out with the traditional account value names such as Minnow, Dolphin, Whale, etc but not limited to them. We are open for more ideas of what we can add as user flairs and how to make the subreddit more readable and easy to filter through.

If you have some great ideas, feel free to comment them in this post and be rewarded with votes. If you can do some css and would like to join the subreddit as a moderator to create the user flairs either comment here or send me a message on steemit.chat or discord under the same username. We are also looking for a couple moderators to just look through the subreddit every now and then on their spare time as me and @ausbitbank are getting overloaded with work and other projects on the platform.

Let's make the subreddit great readable again!

Here is a link to the subreddit for those wanting to check it out, please subscribe to it! https://www.reddit.com/r/steemit/


Sort:  

1.2k reddit karma account of 3 years. I'd like to be a part of this! Maybe I can start by helping out with answering FAQs and try to lurk there more.

Yes! I'd love to have you there! :D

Subbed and bookmarked! We really need to get text posts going man.. place is filled with links.

im coming!

That's what she said!

Can you use flairs from busy.org like plankton redfish for beginners like me as also defined be steem board or if don't want to keep it traditional way u can keep it as in ge clash of clans like bronze, silver, gold, crystal, master, champion, legend idk it's legal or not

Well what will be the work of mod and will he be getting some reward for it? Idk I should ask it here or not but want to know around how much time a mod need to spend there.

I'm not aware of those flairs, got a link to what they look like? If we can use them it would probably be nice to have them on the subreddit!

Maybe it could be steam related to spin off the Steem name:

Droplet
Water
Bubblin’
Geyser
Steemin’

Just off the top of my head. I’m sure we could spin up a few as a collective.

not the typical minnow/dolphin/whale?

Long time user of Reddit here, 9 years if I remember correctly. Your ideas are great, I didn't even know there was a steemit sub, will go check it out and try to participate. Cya there!

Good idea me too, been on reddit a long time and posted a lot of guitar stuff so I'm in. Probably see some interesting posts

Good initiative guys. I'll add it to the many subreddit I watch everyday and see what I can do to help.

Well, great. I'll join it asap. I really admire your effort to give back to this community. Keep it up.

We definitely need to make it more user friendly for newcomers

ya i appreciate it..

Mighty

Great, thanks for you work on Building the Steemit Subreddit. Hopefully people step up to help out!

Hi, I RESteem your post on my feed with my follower... Best Regards
I can give 30 Subreddit UPVotes for 5 SBD... You can contact @jimmyjemsx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87