You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Faucaria / The Throat of an Animal

in #succulents6 years ago

I can't get enough of faucaria, I always want more. Faucaria, titanopsis and aloinopsis are my favourite among the mesembs

Sort:  

I agree.
I also love Lithops and Conos and Dinteranthus...
Every year I sow few new species of mesembs, that's my way of discovering them. .. Argyroderma, Ihlenfeldtia, Nanathus, Gibbeaum, Herreroa... Every one is special to me.

I really like the idea of growing Conos. Dinteranthus and the others you mention are scary to me although I have grown lithops before. I will get back to them. I am also managing to keep fenestraria alive this time. I really hate it when they rot on you. They rot so easily and I feel like such a fool when that happens

Conos and Lithops are the most easiest plants to grow. The catch is in the right time of watering and letting them to dormant. And that's it. With Dinteranthus I'm still in learning phase, I have one year old seedlings.. we'll see. I won't give up.
I have never grown Fenestraria, I'll have to try. But Frithia...OMG so short living.. sadly.
Argyroderma and Nananthus and Bijlia... are easy. Some Gibbeaums are no problem, but some of them I'm still not ready to try.

Did you find Frithia difficult? It is supposed to be easier. Fenestraria is more difficult for us to grow here. I once brought one home and it was dead 4 days later :( I have another now and I am pleased that I have had it 2 months without killing it yet

Every Frithia died to me after few years. At the end I've decided that next one I will grow only from seeds and not to buy grown adult plant. Maybe, if it'll be adjusted to my conditions from the beginning, it will last longer.
I heard that Fenestraria is much harder to grow. I wish you good luck, actually more like good observation, to know how to fulfill it's needs.

Frithia are unusual, because they are found in grasslands in a summer rainfall area instead of desert and they like quite a lot more water but I also find that some plants don't do well for years if watered from the tap. Are you using rainwater?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89