The most impossible flowers to photograph

in #succulents6 years ago

I have never been able to catch Anacampseros flowers fully open, they seem to flower only under very particular weather conditions. Although I have heard that they flower in the afternoon and evening, the only time I have seen flowers was in the late morning and I always think "give it an hour of two and then it will be fully open". I go back later, only to find that it's closed!
Anacampseros flower.jpg

This is the plant itself and as you can see, many buds, but never flowers.

Anacampseros.jpg

Pink flowers are generally pollinated by insects but I don't know what purpose it serves for a flower to only be open for a few hours a day

Sort:  

Great pictures! I never saw this plant before.

Congratulations @nikv, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2514 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2743.93. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

great picture!

Well, purely as speculation: perhaps their opening times coincide with peak activity of a particular pollinator and opening at other times is detrimental due to 'thief' pollinators taking advantage.

That is possible, it is also possible that atmospheric or climatic conditions need to be right for pollination to occur

Wow. This is utterly fascinating. I've never seen this plant before. How can I get some, it would look good in my garden

It comes from dry parts of South Africa so it may not survive in your garden if your climate is very humid

Really a unique creation. Perfect capture, good to see this post. I like your post and Resteem done.

Great post. Very nice pics and I like the simple details. Great and thanks

I am Sarah from Algeria and interested in traditional Algerian clothes. I hope you will take care of my special page. Thank you

oh great view beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85