What I got yesterday - Devil's Backbone

in #succulents6 years ago

On the first and last Sunday of the month, there is a local flea market with a succulent seller who has really cheap and interesting plants. He mainly propagates pieces from his own large collection and I always pop past on my way to the class that I teach to see what he has on offer, as it always changes. This one was interesting and new to me so I bought although I didn't know what it was, only that it is a native plant. A succulent group that I belong to identified it as Cissus Quadrangularis, aka Devil's Backbone.

cissus_quadrangularis.jpg

Despite it's name, this is actually a medicinal plant that has been used since ancient times in India for the treatment of broken bones and osteoporosis, which makes me think that perhaps it grows in Eastern parts of Africa because of ancient trade routes that existed between India and East Africa.

This is a small, rooted stem section and this plant is actually a type of creeper that grows long, segmented succulent stems and it doesn't make many leaves, which soon die off, leaving just the stem with wavy edges behind. I'm hoping that it will do well in my garden.

This is a macro of the young stem segment

Cissus Quadrangularis.jpg

Sort:  

Another amazing succulent that I do not know!
Thank you for these discoveries.
Resteem interessing

Thank you

Interesting medical plant. But his name frightens. I hope that it is good.

It isn't dangerous

Interesting succulent. If only we knew all the medical uses nature has to offer.

Many plants with traditional medical uses have been studied, some of their uses are valid, some are not, but there is ongoing research

Good but not my favourite. you can get them to climb trees I think. If its the same like i have seen locally here.

It probably is similar, they can climb trees. There are a couple of Cissus species

You teach a class as well!!!???

Yes, I teach a fitness and flexibility class for martial artists and anyone else who cares to join in

Learn something new every day... did NOT know this was a medicinal plant. I think we had something related to this, but it grew upright and was quite thorny along the frilly edges.

=^..^=

The name is very strange.
This plant related to the devil. It is sarcastic.
They say it can be used for cancer treatment.
Your succulents are very good.
Greetings @nikv.
Good night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94