Life as a single momsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #summer7 years ago

Like every summer, I carefully plan my son's summer, so he stays stimulated while having fun. If you are a mom, between lunches during school years and summer camps those alone can be a challenge. My son Nathaneil, @naru-celier is fortunate to have traveled to Arkansas with his grand father @vcelier to meet Papa Peppers and family.
I had an idea of what i will be doing in his absence...insted I ended up in the ER with a bad case of a compressed disc!

bulging-disc-causes.jpg

If you never experience this, its a wicked pain in your lower back which prevents you from sitting, laying or walking! What am i to do? Call my sister @rosie.posie, off to the hospital I go.

By Michale Perry MD
"The most common cause of a bulging disc is aging. With age, the shock-absorbing spinal discs lose water content, making them stiffer, flatter and more prone to damage. This causes a disc to lose its natural elastic recoil. Any minor trauma increases pressure of the disc’s central core, stressing and stretching the outer fibrous ring, which may not return it to its original shape.

When this cycle is repeated over an extended period of time, a balloon, or bulging disc, can result. If a disc bulge ruptures and allows the inner jellylike core of the bulging disc to seep out, the injury is called a ruptured or herniated disc. Bulging discs can happen to a person in their 20s but are more common in people in their 30s and 40s."

The young very good looking doctor, probably 10 years my junior, did not know what to say or do. Actually because I was in so much pain that the only thing he suggested was a shot of cortisol, 2 T3's and a shot of morphine. With a bit of hesitation I said yes, I just wanted the pain to go away and being able to sleep. 4 hours late we left the hospital with a prescription for T3's and Naprosyn.

Beside all these pharmaceutical products, i would like to know what natural substance can be taken to prevent bulging disc, aka sciatica. I take my B12, vitamin C and my Omega 3 fish oil.

Anyway, I feel better now, not a 100% but going back to work on Monday and hopefully will be able to get some work done around my house!

Until next time, good night!

Sort:  

As far as I know, there are no food which could help, even though people will always try to sell vitamins and foods telling they are doing wonders healing your body.

Light exercise, avoiding sitting and laying down is important. If you do anything more heavy like go to the gym, make sure you do everything the right way.

Light exercise will make you heal faster, even though sciatica is a real slow healer.

If you want to pick on some cheap foods which are good for you, buy some ginger root. Cut 5-10 small slices of it and peel them, put in ½ liters of water and cook it for 30 minutes. Then drink it. Best health drink you can find.

Thank you for the suggestion, i definitely will try that.

I hope it will help :)

this is great. i will put this to test

My Mom raised my brother and I while being single. A hard task Indeed, What you Mothers do is unbelievable!

It is very challenging for sure, but rewarding at the end.

Touching. Thanks for sharing @bettym3

Thank you for reading.

I'm single father and yes it can be a challenge especially when they're in sports and everything. My social life is hanging out with other parents on my sons sports teams lol hockey baseball or soccer almost everyday

Of course you have to remember the name of the parents and teammates right?

Do your best and goodluck :)

Upvoted & RESTEEMED! :)

This single mom life is great and challenging I never complain to my mom ... thanks for sharing this beautiful post and making us remind .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72