Super Quotes #35 : Fyodor Dostoyevsky


SOURCE

If one waits for everyone to get wiser it will take too long.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky


RESOURCE


Found below in my comments to this post are more quotes by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

Sort:  

I was seeking within myself the human being I had so long lost sight of, hoping that my passion had only been distorted but had never been completely suppressed, by the social illusion, by the dominant ideal of “concealing emotions”.

I wished to shout: “I broke away from your cold and petrified world in which I was one of the wheels running noiselessly in the great machine, one of the idle wheels. I have plunged into an unknown abyss; and in this one hour of the plunge I have lived more fully than in all sheltered years in your circle.

I do not belong to you anymore, I may be on the heights or in the depths, but never shall I return to the dead levels of your philistine comfort.

To confess one's guilt and one's original sin is little, very little; one must wean oneself away from them completely. And that takes more than a little time.

Now is the time to throw a bottle at their heads," I thought to myself. I picked up the bottle... and filled my glass...

Se une jo vetem nuk isha nopran e nurzi, por as i lig e as keqdashes nuk isha, ama edhe ndonje hiç nuk ehste se isha. Ja ku po jua them se nuk kam qene as i lig e as i poshter, po as i ndershem, nuk kam qene hero, por edhe shterpi nuk kam qene.

Ne keto çaste dergjem ne qoshen time dhe vetem ndersej veten, vetem shtirem sikur kam qene njeri i keq, se, sipas meje, nje njeri qe e ka plot koken, s'ka si ben marrezi si ato te miat, vetem budalli sillet asisoj.

if [God] doesn't exist, man is the chief of the earth, of the universe. Magnificent! Only how is he going to be good without God?

A long while yet will you keep that great mother's grief. But it will turn in the end into quiet joy, and your bitter tears will be only tears of tender sorrow that purifies the heart and delivers it from sin.

Oh, with my pathetic, earthly, Euclidean mind, I know only that there is suffering, that none are to blame, that all things follow simply and directly from one another, that everything flows and finds its level - but that is all just Euclidean gibberish, of course I know that, and of course I cannot consent to live by it! What do I care that none are to blame and that I know it - I need retribution, otherwise I will destroy myself. And retribution not somewhere and sometime in infinity, but here and now, on earth, so that I see it myself. I have believed, and I want to see for myself, and if I am dead by that time, let them resurrect me, because it will be too unfair if it all takes place without me. Is it possible that I've suffered so that I, together with my evil deeds and sufferings, should be manure for someone's future harmony? I want to see with my own eyes the hind lie down with the lion, and the murdered man rise up and embrace his murderer. I want to be there when everyone suddenly finds out what it was all for.

https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/3137322.Fyodor_Dostoyevsky?page=32

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93