My first week on Steemit and some surf music

in #surfing6 years ago (edited)

7 days of Steem

“Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana.”
-Anthony G. Oettinger

Hey #fresh5 ! Here are some first impressions on steemit and what it makes me want to do. Cheers

It's been a week since I first heard of Steemit: social networking powered by blockchain, empowering people. There's a lot of reading materials, breathtaking pictures, and great people in here. If I had to compare Steemit to another social network (let's call it Facebook), I'd say Steemit allows me to look for what I want instead of imposing me a depressing news feed. I love to add some quotes, jokes, and anecdotes that make me laugh inside.

20180113_165852.jpg
Here was my view before the snow storm came upon the Alps

Since I started to write, I focus more on what I'd like to say instead of what others would like to hear. I post pictures I'd never shared before because I want others to see new landscapes, new ways of thinking. But today, to celebrate this past week, I want to share some good surf pieces of music that have been a part of me for a long time now. Put your Headsets on !

Music & Surfin' come together

"One good thing about music; when it hits you, you feel no pain"
-Robert Nesta Marley

So, here are my top songs that make me want to surf. I avoided classics here (no surfin' in the USA, that's the deal). And they come with the waves !

1. Xavier Rudd - The Letter

Xavier Rudd is an Aussie singer, impressing guitar skills (Weissenborn style). For the record, he started playing Didjeridoo with a vacuum hose. He was featured on the Brazilian "Surf Adventures" film in 2002.

2. The Beautiful Girls - La Mar

Another "root" guitar song, The Beautiful Girls is (again) an Australian group. The lyrics really are inspiring, a reflection of time passing by. And of course, the clip's about surfing so...

3. Jack Johnson - Better Together

Right, this one's a classic, but that's the song that was looping in the car when I first came to Bali. Jack Johnson, if you feel the need to present him, is a world-class surfer and a true poet when it comes to music. He released his first album in 2000 and made tons of good songs, check him out

4. Mike Love - Permanent Holiday

Impressive live skills, Mike Love is a conscious reggae artist. And when he says "permanent holidays", I instantly want to grab my board and let go of this mad world. You can follow him on mikelovemusic.com and Facebook. He deserves it, and if you happen to see him, tell him to come and Steem It

5. Joe Bennett and the Sparkletones - Black Slacks

Here's another anecdote, I drove for 5 hours to spend a weekend surfing on the French Atlantic coast. It was noon, I hadn't eaten yet and by the time I saw the first waves, I remembered this song from "The Rescuer down under" when the Albatros is dancing while snow's storming outside. It got me in shape for the 3 hours session at freezing 16°C (60°F) : "if an Albatros can dance, you surely can surf. No you don't need food, go freeze yourself".

BS (Bonus Song). Toots and the Maytals - Take me home country roads

John Denver's song, covered by Toots and the Maytals. For each one missing its home, here's what I listen to when I miss surfing in Reunion Island. I haven't been surfing there for 6 years now. I miss my country roads !

I hope you'll like those songs as much as I do. Have a good time and see you soon for more surf related content. I'm still figuring out what I'd like to create with the Steem community, it shall be good !

Disclaimer: I don't own any of the audios, nor videos seen above. They can be found on YouTube

Sort:  

honey for my ears

Congratulations @the-wave-bureau! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68