SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #surreal3 years ago (edited)

The Hand

It is an interesting process to take a pen and ink drawing and create a painting from it. I’d gotten ten 12x12” canvases to paint, and I found it challenging to find images to work with. They needed to have the right amount of detail/complexity, while not getting too visually dense. That is why I cropped into the original ink drawing, to capture the hand and eyes in this case.

the-hand-painting.jpg

My original pen and ink drawing

I took the original ink drawing and added the textured background in Photoshop, in an attempt to develop it as a finished image as opposed to just a pen-and-ink study. Dropping out the background to white gave it some nice contrast and emphasis.

the-hand-ink-drawing.jpg

My vector interpretation for the painting

I see these vector versions as working models, not meant to be finished pieces on their own. In that way they are very handy for clarifying certain areas and shapes that worked well enough in the ink drawing but didn’t exactly translate to solid shapes and colors on canvas. They’re also great for defining a color scheme that I like, before committing to painting it on canvas. Anyone who has worked on a painting only to repaint things over and over to get the color balance right will understand this. Eliminating the confusion and frustration of that struggle is well worth it for me.

the hand-vector@2x.png

All rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped>

footer2.jpg

Thanks for checking out this SketchCrazed post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67