More Power of Convection – A Little Bit of Dreaming

in #sustainability7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: More Power of Convection – A Little Bit of Dreaming


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

The vertical shaft windmills are well proven technology, having been used in the Middle East for thousands of years. There are some wooden ones still operational in Iran.

While harnessing the thermal driving mass of water (thermal convective flow) is doable, the engineering required is a bugger and fraught with pitfalls. These pitfalls can be avoided, but the engineering is expensive.

You may find it beneficial to altetnately look into a "trompe" for harnessing water power.

Awesome, @torquewrench1969! I'm so happy to get a comment from someone who seems to know something about this. Just to make sure we didn't misunderstand each other: what I want to harness is the thermal covective flow of AIR, that has been heated up in the greenhouse, to pump the water up into the tank. As for generating electricity, I want to use the water coming down for running a micro-hydro turbine. The latter is pretty straight forward. The former part is the one I'm not so sure about.

Now I understand what you're wanting to do!

It could be done with rising hot air, but the greenhouse would need to be pretty big and the water flow rate would be pretty low.

I'll think about this a bit and get back to you

yes get back to him....and untold thousands of us dreaming and waiting for proof of concept ;p

Or maybe just 'me too' ;p

I love your idea dual purpose! I may steal it one day! It would be quite a feat of engineering. I am showing it to my husband in a forward email... hope one day your dream of building it yourself can become a reality. An IBC container would probably work for the upper container and you could use solar as an alternative if need be.
Very enjoyable thoughts,
Melissa

I'm glad you like it! Would love to hear what your husband thinks about it. As for the tank, I think I'd like to have it a bit bigger than an IBC container. But these types of water towers seem to be everywhere... I guess they must have bee made for dug wells where they wanted to elevate it for gravity feeding. It would be great to find a property with one already installed.

He said as cheap as solar is now the motors might be cost prohibitive but he loves the idea of converting one of those towers to a house....Live in the clouds! LOL

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stortebeker to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I love it what a great plan. Can't wait to see the completion of it. Keep us posted :)

Thank you @vibeof100monkeys, though I don't think this falls into the short- or medium-term plans. But sure, I'll write lots of posts about it once I get closer.

Well you've planted the seed :)

Keep dreaming friend! Your dreams make great articles and make me dream as well. I have spent years doing dreaming of this type on our homestead, but I must admit your dreams seem so much more scientific and, well - DOABLE!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80