You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why would you swim in cold water?

in #swimming8 years ago

Swimming in cold water increases your brown fat. Brown fat generates heat so you don't need to shiver at all. It also burns lots of calories to keep you warm if you sleep in a cooler environment - so you can put off weight while sleeping.

Nice to read an article in English with metric units.

Sort:  

I do notice I get much hotter during the night after a swim, so that I often end up with just a sheet covering me until early morning. So something must be happening! But when I am in long enough, or the water is cold enough, I still shiver afterwards. I often do a short run back to my apartment, and that does help. Definitely for swimmers with more body fat than me ( and cold water swimmers do tend to have that ) It might be true.

Wikipedia article
Picture of brown fat
Brown adipose tissue in a woman shown in a PET/CT exam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67344.10
ETH 3749.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69