Digging a Pool

in #swimming5 years ago

This spring I am getting a special kind of entertainment, my neighbors are installing a pool and I get a ring side seat. I had heard from others that have installed swimming pools that the process is a mess and requires replacing most of the lawn anywhere near the pool. Now I am seeing how right they were by saying that. Part of the time my view looked like this:

20190507_191335[1].jpg

Not much of a view there, just lots of dirt. Finally after a day of loading dump trucks my view improved.

20190508_185420[1].jpg

I'm told the pool will hold 25,000 gallons of water with the deep end being about 10 feet with a diving board. Fairly large pool. With the digging almost done I was able to get a video of some of the last of it.

These three guys worked very well together. Each could anticipate the next action of the others without any problems. Notice how calmly the one working with the shovel to shape the bottom of the hole is working with no fear of his co-workers digging. They would have had this hole completed in one day but ran into an unmarked sewer line and had to regroup. The next day was spent re-routing the sewer line and the morning of the third day was spent finishing the hole.

Next went in the start of the walls for the pool:

20190510_163217[1].jpg

I'll miss about a week of the entertainment because of a family trip that will keep me away. But it will be interesting to see the progress they will make in that time. The complete project is supposed to take about a month, so hopefully I won't miss too much.

Sort:  

Pretty good entertainment. They do have this process perfected.

We watched our inground pool go in in 1969ish. We had pounded sand walls. I think with a wooden frame behind. I was young....memory fades. I just wanted it done so we could swim. They hit an unexpected underground spring. I know it was a big problem but, again, not sure what the soluton was.

Your neighbors will not regret this short inconvenience for the long lasting enjoyment.

Wonder how entertaining the initiation party will be. Ours was everybody in the pool. Swim suit, clothes, willing or unwillingly, everyone went in.

The process still needs a little work in older neighborhoods like ours. First they hit a sewer line that couldn't be marked. Yesterday was a cable line that had been marked before all the work was started and erased the markings. They do have some ground water that's being pumped out but they say a little stone in the bottom will take care of that. All is moving forward.

I anticipate some interesting pool party snapshots and commentary come its completion!

They were originally anticipating completion around the first of June. I am sure there will be numerous parties over the summer.

Congratulations @mikehamm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97