My new musical obsession(thanks Deadpool)

in #takeonme6 years ago

cover.jpg

A couple of weeks ago, @komminezuspadt and @vermillionfox took me out to see Deadpool 2.
The movie was great, and there was a scene that had tears streaming down my face... in Deadpool!

In this scene, there was a cover of A-ha's Take on Me.
It was done slowly, and was amazingly beautiful.
In the following days, I found myself longing to hear it again, so I looked up who did the cover in the movie.
As it turns out, it was A-ha! They did it for MTV's Unplugged in the 90's.

Growing up in the 80's, I've heard Take on Me 1000 times, and while I liked the song, I was not moved at all by it.
This version absolutely transforms the song into a beautiful and tragic song.
I listened to it without the movie and was again moved to tears!

As I try to figure out what emotions this song is hitting, I've some up with this...
It makes me feel like I have been separated from everything familiar for many years,(like John Crichton in Farscape) then suddenly I hear a familiar melody that fills me with a longing for something that is impossibly far away.

It's mind boggling to me how a different take on an 80's pop song could affect me this much, but it does.

That is all:)

longlife2.jpg

Sort:  

Everything related to our childhood is so closely related to us. These things are so close to our hearts. And when we hear anything related to it then all the memories related to it comes back in mind .

So its actually not the song but the memories related to it that affected to you .
Thats usually the case with me ,Is it also the case with you?

It seems to be.

I love the classical version of this song, but this variant is also beautiful!

That is definitely a great song! I love that version of it too! Hugs to you friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97