You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tarot Basics - The Major Arcana Part 1

in #tarot7 years ago

This is great @audax! Do you believe that the tarot cards you use matter? Or is it more about the meaning we place on the cards? Or a bit of both?

Would love to hear your thoughts about my recent post about making big life changes: You must DIE to FLY

Sort:  

In my opinion, if you can read with a deck, then that is a good deck for you. I personally dislike some of the modern decks (e.g. the "Penny Dreadful Deck") with little or no form of symbols (colour, pictorial or setting) on them as I see no depth to any reading that can be obtained from them, you rely on the card definition alone with a little intuition. Reading is complex to understand in depth, there are a lot of subconscious keys when you get into the depths of the process. Things like the impact of a given symbol over the card as a whole or how two cards affect one another in a reading. I'm writing a second book to discuss this sort of thing and add depth to my introductory work.

Nice post there @axios very much about the Death (XIII) card in the Major Arcana.

Note: I count numerology in with the definition.

Good point about the impact of symbols interacting in any spread. I'm learning - and it's like the more I learn, the less I 'know' - so many layers to a good tarot reading. It's like learning a language and context is everything. A single card takes on a whole different meaning depending on the cards surrounding it.

I think there's also a personal element to interpretation - what the symbol means to both the querent and the reader. The more I talk to long time readers, I find they've created their own methods.

I guess I'd compare it to being a doctor for 30 years vs. a student fresh out of med school. After years of experience, a doctor may be able to diagnose a rare disease almost instantly from one or two symptoms he's seen in other patients over the years, while the new doc wouldn't have that ability/intuition and resorts to the book so to speak.

Definitely right about the personal element @blunderbabe, this is some thing that I discuss in my book. Developing an understanding of how your intuition plays with the symbols, selecting the important etc., and learning the High Priestess' lesson is key to developing a more complete understanding of Tarot.

That makes a lot of sense. Thanks for sharing that insight. Any recommendations for decks I could grab from amazon or one that's more widely available?

And yes! Death card for sure haha

I personally like Rider-Waite based decks, the most recent deck that I bought was the Steampunk Tarot by Barbara Moore & Ally Fell. I like the artwork and accessibility and the book that come with it, but the cards are a wee bit flimsy for my liking. Really the best thing that you can do to select a deck is to troll through google images, searching on themes that catch you imagination, and then check out any that strike you on the Aeclectic Tarot Tarot site.

Take a look at this post I wrote on selecting a tarot deck: Selecting a Tarot Deck
it may be of help, or I'm on Steemit Chat if you want to talk on the subject.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67531.56
ETH 3528.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06