The Burnt Pig. A Real English Treat.

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


For those who don't want to be fussed over or asked a dozen times "Are you enjoying your meal, Sir/Madam?", then this is the place for you...

Welcome to the Burnt Pig!

DSC_7399.jpg

Aswel as a brilliantly unique name, this little backstreet pub has more charm than Sean Connery and Joanna Lumley's love child. With just one tiny bar that serves dozens of punters every night and three small, low ceilinged, rooms, it's simply amazing how 2 people can keep everyone happy... and I can assure you that if you visit you will certainly leave with a hearty smile.

Simplicity is the name of the game here, so please don't visit if you're in the mood for a 3-course meal. Now this doesn't mean you're going to go away unsatified, oh no! It just means you'll have to narrow your pallet down to a few certain flavours...

At the Burnt Pig, which is a "Free House", meaning the Landlords can serve any type of Beverages they choose, you can expect to be drinking the finest Ales and Ciders. And to help you soak up the selection of local Ales is an even finer selection of Pork Pies, accompanied with some of the best chutney and cheeses you'll find this side of the Channel Tunnel.

Why not try the Pork Pie with Black Pudding!
DSC_7391.jpg

The prices I can't quite remember off the top of my head, but I can say you won't be breaking the piggy-bank.

So just remember to leave your aires and graces at the door and you'll be sure to have a great time eating and drinking at "The Burnt Pig".

DSC_7388.jpg

Hope you enjoyed reading about this traditional English Pub. Come back soon!

DSC_7397.jpg

The Burnt Pig
53, Market Street,
Ilkeston, DE7 5RB

bannerart.jpg


Restaurant Information


The Burnt Pig
score
Market St, Ilkeston DE7 5RB, UK


The Burnt Pig. A Real English Treat in Ilkeston.
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @article61, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Thanks for the generous upvote!

Pork pie with black pudding? I think I've died and gone to heaven!
This sounds like a lovely place, I wish I lived next door!

It was sooooooo nice and before this I would never have gone near Black pudding. The beer was also just as good and if you're ever in the area you must visit this place. If I lived next door I'd be burrowing under I think :D
Thanks for stopping by and for putting me onto @tasteem! It was your review that inspired me to try and write one. Next time, take a pic before you start scoffing the food ;)

It's perfect, isn't it, beer and pork pie?
Glad you found tasteem, I enjoy writing the occasional review although @slobberchops is the king of reviews. Too often I'm too hungry to bother with the review!

They go together too well but the pastry is so bad for me...ahh well, it will have to deal with it :)
Maybe you could just take pictures of other peoples food, lol. I'm sure they wouldn't mind that... ;)

It's bad enough that I ask them if I can have a taste!

Love that deco on the ceiling.

Looks even crazier when you've had a few of their beers! Thanks for dropping a comment :)

'The Burnt Pig', what a great name! Only in the UK you can find such names as this.

The Pork Pie looks tasty especially with the crust around the edge.. but black pudding.. er no!

Yes, it got my attention straight away. Those pies will make us both fatties but who cares when it tastes so good. I'll have to come and check out another of your reviews soon, sounds like you get yourself about a bit Mr. Chops ;)

Mind burnt! Instead of mind blown. Great review! Impressed!

Haha! Thanks, glad you enjoyed the review.

The ''Burnt Pig'', marked!!
English style is always something draw my attention!!

Such a unique place and one I'll be visiting again. Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95