Home Kitchen (Prague, Czech Republic): A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

This is one of the restaurants that I recently visited whilst working in Prague, as recommended by my neighbour back at home! It is an interesting hybrid of a café and a restaurant, which is aiming for a homely kitchen sort of feel to the décor and experience.

IMG_20181113_131221.jpg

Located in the Old Town area (Praha 1), near the Jewish Synagogue, it is surrounded by lovely architecture and lots of tourist sights. It is also surrounded by many interesting and affordable (due to the low exchange rate with euros) restaurants, of which I have already featured one for a previous @tasteem review.

The Space

IMG_20181113_131409.jpg

When you enter, you are immediately greeted by the open kitchen and bar area. The open kitchen now being the very real trend for new restaurants! I guess it is kind of nice for the public, but to be honest, if I was one of the staff, I think I would prefer not to have public eyes on me whilst I was working (ha ha… funny, considering my real life job…)… or at least not have random @tasteem reviewers taking photos of them!

IMG_20181113_131414.jpg

In this restaurant (there are 3 locations in Prague), there were quite a few long tables, which reminded me of the spaces where people come to work when they don’t have permanent offices. It really is the sort of place that is also perfect for a Steemian to just rest up in between walking and working, to have a nice coffee and lunch and write up a Steemit post or two!

IMG_20181113_131623.jpg

Not sure if I would consider this kitsch and fake looking… or cute?

The Menu

IMG_20181113_131450.jpg

I had dropped by for a pretty late lunch, and so this was the bistro menu. I’m not sure if there was a different menu for dinner, but you can also see the choices for breakfasts as well. As you can see, they’ve gone with the “Home cooking” route for most of their food menu, with meals that are comforting takes on the traditional Czech cuisine.

IMG_20181113_131502.jpg

This is the main course menu (for lunch), with lots of interesting selections again. I really did want to try many of the things on offer, but alas, one can only eat so much in one sitting! Luckily, this also being a relatively tourist heavy part of the town, it also had English translations.

The Food

IMG_20181113_132934.jpg

For my main meal, I ended up settling on the Beef Neck with parsnip puree and chestnuts accompanied with a nice fresh grapefruit juice. The meal itself was quite impressive, and not too salty (which I find very important in a restaurant meal, as it is possible to add salt, but not to take it away). The addition of chestnuts was something that I’ve not been familiar with, but it matches the beef very well!

IMG_20181113_135020.jpg

Well, I was killing time and writing Steemit posts, and I do feel a little uncomfortable just sitting there and taking up space even if there wasn’t much diner traffic at that time of the day. So, with that as an excuse, I ordered a pear and apple crumble with a Cappuccino to give me an excuse to sit just a little bit longer! Definitely went down a treat!

The Experience

The service was really fast, and the staff were very friendly but not obtrusive. This made it a great place to just sit and rest without being harassed by the staff. I really did enjoy the atmosphere of the restaurant/café, as it really did feel like a nice homely place to set up and write. Perhaps it would have been different if I had caught it during one of the rush and busy times.

The food was quick, and most importantly very delicious. Not the sort of high restaurant quality that you might expect from other places, but just good comfortable home-inspired cooking. The sort of food that you want when you are traveling!

I would definitely recommend this place as a quick and cheap (compared to euros) place to rest and eat for the weary tourist or traveller that finds themselves in the area of Old Prague.

Opening Times

IMG_20181113_131249.jpg

Monday 07:30 - 22:00
Tuesday 07:30 - 22:00
Wednesday 07:30 - 22:00
Thursday 07:30 - 22:00
Friday 07:30 - 22:00
Saturday 08:00 - 22:00
Sunday 08:00 - 22:00

Contact Details

Address: Kozí 916/5 Praha 1 – Staré Město 110 00
Phone: +420 774 905 802
Website: http://www.homekitchen.cz/en/kozi/
Facebook
TripAdvisor
Yelp


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Home Kitchen
score
Kozí 916/5, 110 00 Praha-Staré Město, Czechia


Home Kitchen (Prague, Czech Republic): A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Tasteem is always looking for a high-quality review to receive a special curation. Congratulations to @bengy on receiving a special curation for this great review. There will be an upvote with a higher reward to be given to you in a moment.

TakosDiary Tako’s Diary Tasteem Curation

Thank you for contributing a good content.

Thanks for the curation and the support! Much appreciated!

Those open sandwiches look amazing! I wouldn't describe the prices as cheap compared to UK prices, but I think that's just a sign of the times, and the state of the British £. If I ever get to Prague, I will look out for Home Kitchen.

Haha... yes, I think the Pound as crashed a good deal... I remember when it was a bargain to have a 2:1 exchange rate to euro! I was buying stuff via Amazon.co.uk for a bit of a discount... now it is almost 1:1! Speaking of which, maybe I should start checking out your stores again....

Yeah you'll probably find a few bargains!

Are you in Prague now? I was there last week!! If I would have known you were there I would have let you know and we could have met! :)

Sorry... catching up to all the replies and comments! No, I was there a few weeks before I wrote that review... I have a backlog of restaurants that I've collected whilst working to add to the @tasteem reviews!

Awesome review. When I was in Prague it was too hot, so I have not tried the local cousine very much.

For the most part, I was more than ok with a quick snack.

I will definitely go back there, someday. I loved the city.

The local stuff is pretty decent... but yes, what I had when I was there was more suited to the colder months! I hope to go back more often, it's really a nice place!

That place sure has an aura of sorts.

I would order, slowly eat, do some hacking on my laptop and pretend I was in an episode of Mr. Robot! Lol!

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

LOL, it does really look like that sort of place! I have to get back to watching that show!

I love the pink outside walls and those little drawings are adorable to me. I am glad you enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. 💚

Yes, all the buildings in pastel colours is pretty funny... but it does look better than just concrete!

That all looked and sounded quite delicious! I really enjoy seeing actual menus from other countries. It gives a unique glimpse into the culture and the currency at the same time. Are there any good vegan/vegetarian options? I couldn't make out the menu quite well enough to read everything.

There were some vegetarian options that looked alright, but I'm not really into that and so I didn't manage to try them out! However, if they were on par with what I had, then they should have been decent!

Good to know. Some cuisine easily lends itself to a veggie option, while other types are quite difficult. I struggled in Germany and Austria to find balanced meals without any animal product at all, but I did ok with just vegetarian there. I ate a lot of bread and cheese!

Looks like a good experience and the menu is also pocket friendly.

Thanks! Yes, it was both!

Hey @bengy :) This place looks so cozy, and that food looks like perfect comfort food. There was a place in Vancouver we used to go to; reminds me of this. Perfect for those dark rainy winters, but come summertime, I was never too interested.

Hope you're well :)

Yes, comfort food is the way I would also describe it! Plus, the atmosphere of a comfy cafe, and it was all you would want for those darker days of winter....

PS: As to my well-being, I'm hoping to not be wearing kiddie spew this night!

Great review sounds like a place I would like and enjoy

Yep, it's a nice cosy place to hole up!

Sure looks like it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62