Smokey Bones - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Did someone say BBQ? If they did, I'm thinking immediately - Smokey Bones! Since the first time we came here, this has been my absolute favorite place for Barbecue Ribs! (Don't tell my son, he's pretty proud of his own BBQ ribs.) They smoke their ribs slowly over hickory wood for true smoked flavor and tenderness.

When you first walk into the restaurant you're greeted with warm and welcoming round fire place in the waiting area. Usually it's full of people waiting for a table, but today we are here only minutes after opening and it's pretty early for the dinner crowd.

20190311_161941_resized.jpg

You can see that the dining area and bar are finished with wood and stone decor and plenty of TV sets mounted on the walls if you need to keep in touch with your sports while waiting for dinner. After those ribs arrive, you won't be worried about what's on TV!

20190311_162002_resized.jpg

The menu is based on BBQ but there are plenty of other choices, though you're missing out in my opinion if you don't order the ribs.

20190311_162138_resized.jpg

20190311_162127_resized.jpg

20190311_162113_resized.jpg

We started off with a drinks, I had iced tea, which is my usual libation, and my husband had strawberry lemonade - served in these cute mason jar glasses. Both of our drinks were very good.

20190311_162618_resized.jpg

But on to the the ribs - we both chose the Double Trouble combo, which is a third of a rack of St. Louis style ribs and a third of a rack of Baby Back style ribs. I honestly like them both, so it's hard to say which is my favorite. This ribs just fall off the bone and melt in your mouth. We ordered them seasoned with just the dry rub and no extra sauce - the meat speaks for itself. We both ordered fresh steamed broccoli as one side and for the other I ordered a baked potato and he ordered French Fries.

20190311_163805_resized.jpg

20190311_163820_001_resized.jpg

If you like added sauce, they have four flavors on the table ready for you to try.

20190311_163335_resized.jpg

They are as messy to eat as they are delicious, so I don't recommend wearing a white shirt to Smokey Bones!

This is more of a place for a special dinner, not an every day occasion - it's a little bit expensive. With drinks and a tip the bill is about $60 US, so it's not somewhere we come often. But that just makes it more of a treat when we do come.


Restaurant Information


Smokey Bones
score
6118 N Illinois St, Fairview Heights, IL 62208, USA


Smokey Bones - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @blueeyes8960, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Those ribs look great! Falling off the bone tender sounds delicious. I'm like you too, I'd rather just order them with the dry rub seasoning and experiment with the sauces they offer later. Nothing worse than ordering ribs then not liking the sauce they are coated with. I think the baby back ribs are supposed to be the better of the two, maybe a little better cut of meat?

Yes there's something to be said about getting them plain and then you can use all the different sauces!

I'm not a huge BBQ fan, but that looks like it would be pretty tasty. If I was with a group and we went there, I would definitely give those ribs a try. I think those loaded nachos on the menu look good too. And did you see the size of that triple burger on the build-a-burger page? How could you eat such a monster burger? A little pricey for me though.

I know that burger is huge right? Want to bet it doesn't actually look like that when it comes out? But it would probably still be good. I've never tried the nachos because I always want to save room for the ribs.

I have eaten here many times, these are the best restaurant ribs I have ever had. My favorite is their baby back ribs, they are falling off the bone tender, and oh so delicious!!!

You know it! And the pink lemonade was good, but they also make a good margarita, but you're adding quite a bit more to the bill because their liquor isn't cheap either!

Nice place, seems very cosy and homey with good decor and great food :D

Those jar glasses are so in, these days :D

I love ribs, specially if they are cooked right and this place seems to know how to do them perfectly <3 The prices are a little dear, though, but yea, I guess such a place makes visiting them an occasion :D

Those ribs look delicious and I like all the choices for hot sauce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58