Dining with Bozz: Gimmicks - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


IMG_20181231_125018.jpg

Exactly a week ago, I wrote this post about @mrsbozz and I taking our friends children to the bowling alley on New Years Eve to play putt-putt golf on the indoor course they have.

After a competitive round of putt-putt in which @mrsbozz was the winner, we decided to walk to the other end of the bowling alley to visit Gimmicks for lunch.

Gimmicks is actually a little more upscale than a lot of the bowling alley bars that I have visited in my day. At it's heart though, it is still a bowling alley bar.

I am going to be right up-front, I have never really had a problem with Gimmicks. We don't go there frequently, but when I do, the food is usually pretty consistent.

I remember their Quesadilla being really good, though when I visit now, I usually always get the Greek Moose (gyro) pictured above.

@mrsbozz on the other hand usually leaves Gimmicks dissappointed always having high hopes but somehow the food never quite does it for her.

Hopefully you can see from the interior shots I took here what I am talking about when I say it is a bit more upscale than your typical bowling alley bar...

IMG_20181231_122221.jpg

IMG_20181231_122230.jpg

They even have some out of the ordinary things hanging on the walls.

IMG_20181231_122303.jpg

I am starting to see more and more these displays that show what the establishment has on tap. I have to say, I really like the idea. Too many times I sit down at a place and either someone removed the draft list from the table/booth or the list is so long the server can't possibly remember them all.

IMG_20181231_122425.jpg

IMG_20181231_122428.jpg

Even though this display was behind me, over my head, it was still pretty easy to turn around and see what they had on tap at that moment.

Needless to say since it was only lunch on New Years Eve and we had the kids I chose to enjoy a nice, cool, refreshing... water.

The menu is actually pretty extensive and though I didn't get a picture of it, they have it available online here.

Not suprisingly one of the kids ordered chicken fingers and the other ordered sliders.

IMG_20181231_123310.jpg

IMG_20181231_123313.jpg

The fries(chips) here are actually really good, they are nice and crispy on the outside and soft and warm on the inside. The little guy that got the sliders wasn't feeling too hot so we took his food home and he eventually scarfed it down.

The little one that got the chicken fingers gave them a resounding thumbs up.

IMG_20181231_123308.jpg

@mrsbozz went with the BLT and as I said before, she was a little underwhelmed. She felt like they used a bit too much butter(fat) on the outer bread.

I didn't try a bite of hers because I was too busy enjoying my gyro. I trust her judgement though. I have gotten patty melts several places where they must dip the bread in butter or grease before they throw it on the flat-top. It can be a little off-putting.

Service was a realtively quick even though the place was probably about half full. I didn't think that was too bad. I have heard in the past that Christmas break and New Years are some of the busiest times for bowling alleys. Apparently, because of the weather(in colder climates) people tend to go there for family time etc.

IMG_20181231_125605.jpg

Pricing wasn't that bad either with our entire total coming to $33.77 USD before tip. If this had been just @mrsbozz and I, I would consider it kind of expensive. Especially without alcoholic beverages.

It's not often that I have to pay for four people, but I don't feel that price was too bad for four full meals.

If you are travelling through the Midland, MI area you might one day find yourself staying at the Valley Plaza Resort. If you do and you need a bite to eat without having to venture into the main part of town, Gimmicks is a short walk across the parking lot.

Knowing it gets mixed reviews from my family, I still think it is worth checking out and if you happen to be there on a bowling league night it is probably a pretty lively and energetic place.

FYI, we were there in the middle of the day so it was okay, but they typically don't allow minors in Gimmicks after 10:00 PM.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Restaurant Information


Gimmicks Grill & Bar
score
5021 Bay City Rd, Midland, MI 48642, USA


Dining with Bozz: Gimmicks - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

The fries look really good. Another a great review. Thanks for sharing with @tasteem
#tasteem-curation

Thank you!

Per the normal that's a really nice review. I really do appreciate a place that knows how to handle french fries. It's not all that hard and so appreciated!

This is somewhat upscale to what I would consider for a bowling alley bar/restaurant. To say the least.

When you look at the finishes in the place, it really does tell a much different story than "bowling alley bar". That is Midland for you though. It's a corporate town, home of Dow Corning and Dow Chemical (now all the same company). People around there like to think themselves much fancier than they really are. :) I remember when they were talking about building a Walmart out by the mall a lot of people were against it because they didn't want the Riff-Raff from the county coming into town. We lived in a community outside of the city that is now pretty affluent, but back then it wasn't. My dad made a bumper sticker that said "Midland County Riff-Raff".

That is far more upscale than the food at our local bowling Alley, and the food looks good from the Photos a pity the BLT wasn't up to par

Yeah, like I said, I have never really had problem with it. A short distance down the road though is one of our favorite places though so given the choice we always pass on Gimmicks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well it must have been nice for a change then I guess, we do have a favorite place we go but like occasionally to go somewhere different just for some variety

Well... it's good value if nothing else!

For sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulation to @mrsbozz Yeah you win. And of course well done to @bozz for such a great post.

Thank you!

Thanks @bozz for sharing . Food looks good enough and fairly well priced.

Thank you!

Mmmm gyros!
Here you go, making me hungry again!
Haha the food looks great!

Thank you!

Awesome looking food @bozz! It has been a while since I’ve had a nice Gyro, but now I’m craving one!

Can’t go wrong with chicken fingers... and the sliders look great too!

Cheers and happy new year @bozz!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I was kind of hoping he wouldn't get his appetite back so I could have the sliders myself later but alas, he did :) Chicken Fingers and nachos are my go-to when I am not sure what to get or I want to be careful what I am eating. Even if they are the frozen then fried chicken fingers, they still end up pretty good.

Happy New Year to you as well!

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

🏆 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @ilsaione
Subscribe and increase the reward for @bozz :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50