Tasteem Review: Z's Bar & Restaurant Grand Rapids Michigan

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image


This past weekend my wife and I took my nieces to see a concert in Grand Rapids, MI. This is the first time my wife and I have been there together, though I travel to Grand Rapids about once a year for work.

Being a college town, there are lots of great places to eat, but one of my favorites is Z's. My wife has never been here before, so I was really excited to share this place with her. The downtown area of Grand Rapids is pretty busy, with lots of business people moving about and going here or there for a drink after work. Z's is able to retain a small town bar feeling while being right in the middle of the craziness, and that is what I love about it.

IMG_20181006_183922.jpg

There was a huge art fair going on in the city on this particular weekend, but we were still able to get a table fairly quickly and our service was fantastic despite the busy-ness of the restaurant. It is pretty large inside with a raised area at the front for seating. On specific evenings they clear that area and they have karaoke. The rest of the establishment consists of a large bar in the center with tables and booths surrounding it on each side.

IMG_20181006_172020.jpg

You can get a pretty good idea of what the place looks like if you just look past my niece's head there!

We were all on a time crunch because we had a concert we needed to get to. Like I said though, the service was prompt and friendly. They have pretty substantial list of beers on tap and they also serve decently strong mixed drinks.

My wife started with a Captain and Diet and I started with the "Mosaic Promise" which is from Founders Brewing right there in Grand Rapids.

IMG_20181006_172327.jpg

It was pretty good, but tasted a little too much like grapefruit for my liking, so I eventually switched to my old standby.

IMG_20181006_174109.jpg

We also started our meal with an order of the Wisconsin CheeZe curds.

IMG_20181006_171617.jpg

If you are wondering how they were, let me just say, the kids decimated them. I have yet to have a meal at Z's that wasn't top notch and this night was no exception.

We quickly decided what we wanted to eat and put our order in. I would say that our food was out and on the table within 30 minutes which really wasn't that bad given how busy they were. As we were waiting for our food we could hear and see them seating more people. The wait to get a table had definitely increased from the time we got there.

My wife and I shared the Tandoori Chicken Tacos

IMG_20181006_174142.jpg

They were fantastic, the flavors worked together really well from the cilantro-lime rice you can't see to the Tandoori chicken and the pico de gallo on top. The cilantro-lime sour cream on top finished them off perfectly. After we shared the three of them we almost wished we had gotten two orders.

My one niece got the Z's burger.

IMG_20181006_174148.jpg

She was generous enough to give me a bite of it and although it was a little more done than I typically like, the flavors were still fantastic and it was a solid burger.

Finally, my other niece went with the good old American standby, chicken fingers.

IMG_20181006_174145.jpg

These were pretty typical, probably purchased frozen and then fried, but they were fried perfectly and I found myself eating a couple of them when she wasn't able to finish them.

The niece who got the burger usually judges the quality of a restaurant by the quality of their honey mustard, my wife and I tend to judge based on the quality of their ranch dressing.

I know it probably seems like a silly thing to judge a whole dinner experience on, but let me say she gave two thumbs up to the honey mustard and my wife and I recognized ranch with great flavor as soon as we tasted it.

IMG_20181006_171606.jpg

IMG_20181006_171638.jpg

Our total bill came to about $97 USD before tip. It was a little more than I was expecting, but really not that bad when you consider my wife and I each had three or four drinks. We were walking from there to the concert venue. Plus, the fact that I am not used to buying dinner for four people since it is usually just my wife and I.

My wife was definitely impressed though and I have a feeling if we had not had the kids with us, we probably would have stopped back in on the walk back to our hotel for a while longer. Being her first time there, I think this “date night” was a success.

Another cool fact about Z's is they have a party store in the basement. You can see the entrance on the side of the building in my opening photo.

If you are in Grand Rapids, MI and are looking for a great place with awesome food that treats you right and feels like home, check out Z's.


Restaurant Information


Z's Bar & Restaurant
score
168 Louis Campau Promenade NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503, USA


Tasteem Review: Z's Bar & Restaurant Grand Rapids Michigan
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Where to eat for my blind date?


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Thank you for your time joining Tasteem's contest.
Your post is curated as a good post with full information satisfied the requirements of Tasteem.
It means this post will get a higher upvote from Tasteem.

We are looking forward to seeing more good posts from you in the future!
Thank you!
{Tasteem-Global Supporter} - Lenancie!

Thank you! I appreciate it!

ah wow, all looks so good! Those Tandoori chicken tacos look nice, that's a really interesting combo - the Indian flavours with a staple Mexican dish. If you think about the flavours though, they are similar. Fusion!

Thanks!

Yeah, it was pretty amazing. It my wife's pick since we were sharing and she totally nailed it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Tandoori, Burgers and karaoke (well kinda) sounds like a great warm up to a concert..
I know this post is about food, but who's concert did you go to?

Stop back I am going to cover the concert yet this week. You can get a preview by checking out my other posts!

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha
Good tease
I will come back :D

Sounds and looks like a great place, the food looks excellent, I used ot like trying different beers from time to time, but Have never been a fan of ones with two much fruity tastes I like my beer to taste like beer lOL

It is a pretty awesome place. I have spent several late nights there. I was going to get an Oktoberfest but the keg had run out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Back before I was on blood thinners I spend many late nights at similar spaces, but nowadays I am a home person, kind of boring but I have tons of time for editing photos LOL

I'm getting so hungry seeing all that food! I could definitely eat a bunch of those CheeZe curds right about now, too bad they don't export them :D

It is too bad, they were fantastic. This place makes a good pizza too so the marinara sauce for dipping was the perfect compliment. The ladies used ranch of course!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, looks like a delicious experience!! :D
I wish there was one of those around here...
Now Im hungry....

I hear you, just sitting down for lunch myself...

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow. Great looking place and food. I'll just bet your nieces were liking that experience.

I think the idea of restaurant rating with the dressings has merit. If they take enough time and effort to get something little like a dressing right, they'll probably take the time and effort with the chow.

Looks a little larger than the Grand Rapids, Minnesota review that I did a while back :)

Thanks, bozz. Per the normal it was outstanding.

Yeah, they had more of a blast than I could have imagined. Just a tiny bit bigger 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I like the look of the cheez curls. I miss the food over the water, my dad wouldn't stop talking about it when he visited.

Yeah, they were really good. I was so bummed when I looked at the plate and they were half gone from the kids!

Posted using Partiko Android

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Where to eat for my blind date?> Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.369 which ranks you at #7019 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 101 places in the last three days (old rank 6918).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94