Amazing budget meal at Guico's

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


The store description says "general merchandise" so I thought it is a variety store. But then I noticed the pot on the counter. Below the counter says "rice meal." I peeped inside and there are tables and chairs. Okay, this is a food house.

I approached the counter and asked the woman on the other side of what they have. She said "sisig and chicken wings" while looking at the wall to my left. I followed her eyes and saw the menu.
05-25-06.57.08.jpg

She reiterated what's available, "only sisig and chicken wings."

I said I don't want the wing to be spicy and she said indeed not spicy because spicy version is not available.

I asked how it will be done and how much, she said "Fried. Fifty pesos for chicken wing and rice." Now that's pretty cheap for a set meal. Let's have dinner now!

I got inside the dining area and noted that it has only two medium size tables. "Limited space but clean and organized enough," I thought.
05-25-06.52.55.jpg

You pass by the "kitchen" before going to the dining area. I can't stay put waiting so I got up and joined the crew while she fries my chicken wing. That gave me the chance to have chit chat with her. I asked how come they are in food business when the name of the store is something different. She said it is because they just shifted their line of business about only three months ago - from general merchandising to food house. I see... but I forgot to ask if they will change the business name in the future

She also told me their operating hours that usually start at 9:30 AM and they closes at around "this time." It was almost 7:00 PM.
05-25-07.02.43.jpg

Now she's done. She came with this plate and a bottle of catchup. The chicken wing smells good, fresh from frying. When I tasted it, I am all the more excited because it tasted better than I expected. I think it was somehow marinated because I can taste flavors but most specially the pepper. At US $0.96, I enjoyed my meal contrary to what I expected. It was more than worth the price whren nowadays, most meal set would usually cost double.
05-25-07.02.14.jpg

I was about to get out of the dining area when I noticed these in the corner. Oh, so they also have tea powder. Maybe worth buying and trying next time.
05-25-08.14.44.jpg


Restaurant Information


Guico's General Merchandise
score
Greenheights Ave, Parañaque, 1700 Metro Manila, Philippines


Amazing budget meal at Guico's
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Dear Tasteemer,

Our auto-vote system has an error at the moment, it does not upvote your post.

We reported this problem to our dev team and it should be fixed on Monday and we will upvote your post after the bug is fixed.

Thank you for your patience

Tasteem Global Team

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @cheen, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Congratulations @cheen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59