Crispy Pork Rice or Khao Moo Grob - you gotta have this

in #tasteem5 years ago

This is one of my go-to dishes, especially for late night food or when I can't decide what I want to eat. Sometimes it is so hot that nothing sounds appetizing and since there is one of these places nearby, I eat it a lot.

Khao Moo Grob ข้าวหมูกรอบ



Khao means "rice"
Moo means "pork"
Grob means "crispy"
Easy right?

o.jpg
source

There are lots of different ways that this can be prepared and basically it is just a specially prepared pork belly that is fried in a specific way so that the exterior is crunchy while the interior is tender. Mostly it gets served with a few vegetables but not many because the pork is the main attraction here.

This can be obtained anywhere that you see the crispy pork hanging in the window or sitting in the display case and unless you are somewhere in the south where there is a high Muslim population I can promise you won't be looking for very long to find a street stall that sells it. However, it is unlikely to look like the professional picture above.

49834048_283638122315704_4249085045140094976_n.jpg

This is far more representative of what you will receive for around 40-50 Baht (around $1.50) and it comes with a side of soup in most instances. My photo doesn't look nearly as appetizing as the first one but I was very hungry and this was not the time to try to get a perfect shot.

Normally it comes with 2 separate sauces, one is mildly spicy the other is sweet. I don't have any idea what is in them but I will say this, take it easy on the sweet one because like a lot of things here, the Thais tend to go much sweeter than a westerner would.

49864259_375303126593405_4949115644386738176_n.jpg

It is a shame that so much plastic goes into this but to be honest I can't think of any other way that they could cheaply make this take-away-able. I reuse the bags as much as I can.

I would imagine that Thai restaurants in the west feature this dish but when i was back visiting the states I went to try to find pork belly to make some Korean food for my parents and had a very difficult time finding any. I was in a small town though so I guess it should have been expected. Oh, and if you do find it in a Thai restaurant in the U.S. or Europe i can guarantee that it won't be $1.50 :P

So if you do find yourself in Thailand and you pass by a street stall that has some fried pork belly in the window, get some of it. I promise you wont regret it!

Sort:  

Damn I really miss Thailand now... the incredible good food and that it costs mostly only 40-60 Baht.
One portion of this yummy pork and an iced thai tea with a lot of sugar and I am happy xD

Posted using Partiko Android

The food looks good but if I see them plastic bags before eating I definitely would not eat thank you for sharing

Wow, that's inexpensive.
I've been to Bali years ago, and I remember everything was a lot cheaper than in Europe. Must be the worst thing about visiting other countries. :)

Yummy 😋 oh thanks for sharing this..

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

Crispy Pork rice is very famous in which many benefits for the body All tourists prefer this meal @gooddream This is wonderful

There are a lot of condiments in this recipe meal, the food looks rich and for a $1.50 I think it is a fair bargain . The food looks delicious to taste

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi gooddream. You are making me hungry. Must admit I prefer the top photo. Crispy pork is superb.At $1.50 I would just eat out all the time.No point in cooking over there.

I too find storing things in plastic bags to not healthy practice. We need to bring some healthy as well as economical way of storing food stuff.
Keep up with amazing content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94