Phanfa Cafe - Chiang Mai - delightful little side street cafe

in #tasteem5 years ago

I am slowly figuring out that the best places in Chiang Mai are not actually on the main road. The real gems are hidden down some alleyway and normally have no sort of advertising on the main road at all. This works out nicely for me because I'm on a bicycle and the main roads have too many damn cars on them and for the most part cars wont even fit in these small streets (not complaining, i chose to move to a busy city.) Also, the prices tend to be much lower presumably because these places almost certainly pay a fraction of the amount of rent as the guys on the main street.

Situated in some random-ass side street is Phanfa Cafe. It is so small that if you were on a motorbike you could easily drive right past it without noticing it was even there.

52446233_306435206743569_4706615421418078208_n.jpg

There is a small garden with fountains and indoor seating for i would guess like maybe 8 people. There was only one staff member who i presume was the owner and they featured a very small menu. I ordered the smoked salmon baguette and a coffee.

52373524_396040774486343_5989016622197637120_n.jpg

This doesn't look very impressive, but it was exactly the way I had hoped it would be. I hate it when i order a baguette and it is super crispy on the outside which normally succeeds at simply cutting the interior of my mouth, which i would prefer to avoid. It wasn't a very big meal and to be honest I will likely need to have a second lunch. However, it was very tasty.

52005990_335894207134584_6063532586796318720_n.jpg

I was really happy to find this place because it was quite hot today and I was really hoping for some air con while i had some food so Phanfa totally fit the bill. I had about an hour to kill before I picked my doggie-pal up from the beauty salon so this place was just perfect.

you can find Phanfa's location and more info about it here

If you found this entry boring here is a picture of my newly beautified doge. That'll brighten up anyone's day.

51694290_2275586206035151_6513290919104479232_n.jpg

Sort:  

The important stuff first: awww your doggo is looking so cute :3

I would probably die trying to drive through the Thai traffic xD
That's a nice little cafe, how much did you pay for the baguette? I would love to have one now, hmmm time for a new coffee to kill some time until lunch break xD

the entire thing was around $4 US. I think the baguette was 3 of that :)

At least it was proper food and met expectations. Small menu is understandable and looks like a banker for a return visit.

I get a feeling like youve visited every single spot in town looking at your posts. :D
You should make your own Yelp. hehe

this place is massive. tasteem asked me to help contribute to their app, i don't even know if i am doing it correctly :P

I think youre doing it correctly from what ive seen other folks do in Tasteem posts. Although i dont think they use "random-ass" as a way to describe location. hahaha

Lol. That's a good point.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! This place looks like a great find. Thailand has lots of these kinda “modern/western” cafes that do good food and coffee etc, I love it.
I would eat at the small local Thai places, but always find these types too! Enjoy :) love the dog

Your dog is very cute. What is his name?

Woah why is it so damn small! Get rid of the grass and dirt and expand :P
Your dog looks like a cuddly goofball hehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh. Love your dog. Looks so cute

Yes, the picture of your dog is the best part. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75