Secret Cottage Cafe Dining & Boutique | Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Since Tripadvisor rated this restaurant 48 out of 3850, my hubby & I decided that we should go and check it out for ourselves. After all, since it was in District 1, it would make perfect sense to visit yet another authentic Vietnamese restaurant. Oh yes, this is what we constantly do every night; searching and blogging about every new restaurant we've been. I think we do qualify to be food bloggers for this country.

Firstly, the name sounds so secretive that it calls for all our curious cells to be activated. From the comments from Tripadvisor, it seems like a difficult restaurant to find in this city. And I have to 100% agree with it. We actually got lost at first because we got distracted by other available restaurants along the way but we stood firm to finding this secret cottage !

IMG_20190911_181913.jpg

The entrance from the street is totally impossible to find. We almost missed it if not because of the signage which we so happen to see as we looked up into the sky. Even then, we did not knew that we had to walk into a shop that was selling handbags and souvenirs and eventually find a small stairway at the back; walking up the stairways, we still weren't sure that we were on the right direction. Not until we reached the top floor ( after 2 flights of stairs ), that we realised we have reached our destination. Mr Google would surely not be able to help us in directions !

IMG_20190911_181743.jpg

IMG_20190911_172539.jpg

Thankfully, we were greeted by the wait staff who welcomed us and brought us to a high bar table facing the streets of HCMC. The interior of the restaurants seemed rather holy and spiritual if you asked me; with lots of Chinese Buddha statues all around us. There was even a huge Buddha looking statue situated in one corner. One part of the restaurant seemed to be under renovation or construction which I consider strange that it is even allowed to be operational under such a condition.

IMG_20190911_172352.jpg

IMG_20190911_172335.jpg

The menu was impressive though with many selections and photos to help us decide. I was too busy taking photos that I left the decision to my hubby. We ordered an appetiser & a rice dish to share. The rice dish was one of the Signature dishes in Vietnam - Broken Rice. Not sure what is the history for broken rice but I have seen it being served in many other Vietnamese restaurants but never tried it before. So, this was a tryout for both of us.

IMG_20190911_174508.jpg

IMG_20190911_175113.jpg

The appetiser was excellent. 4 different varieties with 2 pieces each; so we each had 1 piece to ourselves. But, we didn't fancy the broken rice very much. The texture of the rice wasn't fully cooked and had burnt after taste - I felt it was too hard for me so we didn't finish it. But the BBQ pork meat that was served with the rice was tasty. I ordered the passionfruit tea drink for myself - sweet and sourish, just the way I like it!

IMG_20190911_172622.jpg

There were at least 3 other tables with diners catching an early dinner like us; all with different orders on their tables, all uniquely presented. I do like the way the place is decorated especially on the chinaware used. I wonder where did they get their plates and bowls; they are very impressively carved.

IMG_20190911_172412.jpg

In terms of ambience & service, it has gotten full score marks from us. Food wise, apart from the broken rice, I would give them an 8. But, there was an incident when we arrived at the restaurant, which I would give them a 0 for hygiene level. I'm not sure if it's me but I seemed to have this sort of attraction for rodents ! I saw a tiny mouse running along the pipe lines above the bar counter.

Oh yes I did ! I was contemplating not to dine there but hubby said we should give it a try or perhaps I was wrong. I am 100% sure I wasn't but instead of making a scene, I obliged and went along.

Would I return here again ? I'm not sure. Would you ?


Restaurant Information


Secret Cottage Cafe Dining & Boutique
score
12-14 Nguyễn Thiệp, Bến Nghé, Quận 1, Hồ Chí Minh 70000, Vietnam


Secret Cottage Cafe Dining & Boutique | Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Seems like a truly unique place and satisfied your palate. Rodents are a no go for me. I don't need to see them.

Thanks for the awesome review!

!tip

I try to ignore the fact I saw one so that I could appreciate the place. After all I did have a hard time looking for this restaurant 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Sweet sweet neh

Posted using Partiko iOS

😍 Thanks so much

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a unique place- so hard to find lol. I would go even if there was a mouse. Rodents are everywhere and it can be hard to control them...

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess they are there as proof of good food.. Just like ratatouille ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Now i know why it is called broken rice😂. You are qualified to be food blogger, i totally agree on this. =)

Ha ha... Just some of the privileges that we have when traveling and visiting new places to dine

Posted using Partiko Android

The decorations are very unique, and the food looks great too!

The interior is definitely amazing.
I had more fun appreciating their chinaware.. Am thinking of buying some for back home

Posted using Partiko Android

Their chinaware does look amazing.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @ireenchew, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

🎁 Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Ah... pity about the mouse... it really looks like a great place apart from that!

Yes.. We can consider it an uninvited guest that De ided to gate crash the party

Posted using Partiko Android

The appertizer is indeed good. The sauces gave it a kick

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never been to a place quite like this before. All the food looks quite divine.

I love all the photos where you show the atmosphere it really sets the tone for what restaurant is like.

Oh yes.. The place is indeed a gem.
Maybe that's why its called Secret Garden :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59