Enter the World of The Special Tavern (To Eidikon) - in Piraeus, Greece!

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


Hi everybody!

Today I would like to share with you one of my all time favorite taverns that is located in the vicinity of Greece's largest port, Piraeus, where thousands of visitors pass through every day to catch a boat or a ferry to one of the country's many lovely islands. It's a tavern well worth visiting . . . as it's just so "Special"!

051.jpg

The moment you step through the door of the Eidikon Tavern you know you have entered another world! The atmosphere is of bygone days with memorabilia displayed on the shelves and walls; some dating back to the 1920's!

The owner, Mr Apostolis, is always there to welcome you with his wife Maria, who often disappears behind the main counter to prepare really basic home style food . . . which is always fresh but oh so delicious!

When I’m asked what you should order at this tavern, I always say: “Make sure to try the pan-fried meat balls (keftedakia - seen in 1st photo above) as they are about the best in town . . . . and enjoy them with top notch fries or a yummy tomato salad with olives and onions.

042 (Large).jpg

If you don't have a cholesterol problem, order their fries topped with 3 fried eggs or the Strapasada (scrambled eggs with tomato and cheese - photo below). Other items on the menu include fried liver, spicy sausage, cheese and Fava; all served without frills, the old fashioned way!

013 (2) (Large).jpg

I also recommend you try the home produced Retsina. It's actually one of the few places in Greece where I wouldn't want to drink anything else!

016 (Large).jpg

The place is open daily from lunchtime until 11 pm and on Saturdays, if you are lucky, you can enjoy a couple of guys who come by and play their bouzouki and guitar and sing old classic Greek songs.

To Eidikon Tavern
Address:
Psaron 38 & Salaminos
Drapetsona, Piraeus, Greece
Tel: +30 210 4612674

ENJOY!


Restaurant Information


TO EIDIKON TAVERN
score
Drapetsona, Greece


Enter the World of The Special Tavern (To Eidikon) - in Piraeus, Greece!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Hi @Tasteem, Yesterday when I wanted to upload this post I was surprised to get a notice that said I didn't have a high enough score to participate . . . then when I tried again, it told me that something went wrong and then that I had to wait for at least 5 minutes to try again . . . but then I found it on my blog! So could you perhaps explain or clarify????
Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71