Celebrating with friends at Gerry's

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Gerry's Restaurant and Bar is formerly Gerry's Grill. It is a Filipino restaurant with different branches across the country. I got a chance to visit one of its branches few weeks ago when I attended the christening and birthday celebration of my friend's baby girl. They had their reception catered at Gerry's.

The restaurant is in a resort-type community so it is no wonder that the outdoor setup on the first photo and the next one greeted us on our way in.
07-04-07.55.56.jpg

The interior is fairly spacious. We were ushered to the innermost area. When we got seated, the first that caught my attention is this bottle right in front of me.

"Wow, Gerry's has its own inihaw sauce," I thought. That is sauce for roasted meat. I wondered if this is in the market like the Kamayan Bagoong so I asked my friend.

"I do not recall seeing this Gerry's inihaw sauce at any grocery store," she said.

I too do not. So maybe this branded sauce is only for their restaurants. I am not sure.

07-04-07.57.07.jpg

While we were chatting and catching up with what's new from each other, I silently captured the flap ads on the table. This one is a promo about their catering services in their restaurants.
07-04-07.55.32.jpg

The other flap promotes their catering services to their client's preferred location. That means they can cater outside their restaurant. That willbe perfect if you want to host a party at home or in the office without the hassle of preparing the foods by yourself.
07-04-07.57.48.jpg

After more chit chats, the foods were finally announced to be ready. Yay! Yes, I admit I was already hungry. And I was happy to know that it is a buffet style. So up we were from our seats to the buffet table.

Vegetable soup, plain rice, pancit canton, kare-kare, pork sisig, and inihaw na manok (roasted chicken). That's a good list to choose from for lunch! And look, the crew members were posing for my camera.

07-04-07.58.36.jpg

We lined up and took our pick. I am not the type of person who usually take different viands at the same time so I had roasted chicken and sisig only.
07-04-07.58.59.jpg

While we were eating, more members of the crew went around and distributed glasses of ice tea.

Even after the line was over, one of the crews stayed by for those who may want to have second round. My friend made a quick round and encouraged us to go back and have more because there are still plenty of food. I went back but took very little because I was already full.
07-04-07.59.30.jpg

We were about to finish our food when the crew members made another round and distributed cups of buko pandan salad for dessert.
07-04-08.11.05.jpg

After lunch, we stayed longer for more chit chats. After cleaning our tables, the crew came back and asked if anyone wants beer. Beer? Apparently, my friend and her husband have considered that. I don't drink so I let it pass while a few of the men asked for a bottle.

We spent around one more hour after our meal before people started saying their goodbyes. My other friends and I then started too to go.

I snapped this photo of the outer dining area on our way out. This area is also fairly spacious.
07-04-07.55.10.jpg

I did not spend any amount at all for the meal because it was hosted. Though, I noticed this menu stand to the right of the door right after we got out.
07-04-07.54.44.jpg

I made a last glance back as we were exiting the Residential Resort. From the prices, Gerry's may not be affordable for daily visit. However, I can say it is a great place to meet and hang out with friends while enjoying great Filipino foods.
07-04-07.53.58.jpg

Gerry's Restaurant and Bar
The Residential Resort
Resort Drive
Newport City
Pasay
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Gerry's Restaurant and Bar
score
Butterfly Garden, Resort Drive Newport City, Pasay, 1309 Metro Manila, Philippines


Celebrating with friends at Gerry's
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I still have to try Gerry's. Kasla gamin han sulit nukua haha!

Wen, kasla haan nga sulit no medyo nangina ngem mayat padasen sagpamingsan agkaro no libre. 😄 The first time I went to a Gerry's branch was when our team at work went to unwind. Expenses were care of the company. This time, care of my friend who was the host. 😄

Haha mayat man 😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy macoolette! The food looks great and so does the atmosphere, it's a wonderful restaurant for a meet up with friends like you did!

I actually thought it would have been cozier if the reception was done outside in front of the restaurant but of course, there is the Manila humid and heat...

Yap, we had a great time. How do you guys over there host a reception for gatherings? Do you host at home or in a restaurants or hotels?

Howdy again macoolette! We don't host any gatherings and we only know a couple of people since we moved here. But we are working on remodeling and fixing our property up so Mrs. J. can hold Bible studies out here in the country. We have a pool, large porch, and two large patios but the patios are not finished, that's my project for this winter.

I wonder how vast our ranch is that you do not know much from the neighborhood. Are you in the middle of your hacienda that the next neighbor is a mile away? 😃

The Bible study will be a great avenue to get to know and get close to your fellows out there. Maybe you can also share a glimpse of your projects here on Steemit.

Howdy again macolette! Well, there are neighbors fairly close, one right across the street but there are so many trees between us that we can't see anything, we hear something occasionally like mower or cars. But the other neighbors on one side is a half mile away and in other directions a mile or so away.

So we aren't that isolated but we are surrounded by trees so we have total privacy. As far as sharing projects on Steemit I doubt it, we take our privacy very seriously, lol. Perhaps glimpses though.

I guess you have to socialize more often in real life. Even at least half of your socializing on Steemit. 😄

No thanks, I'd rather be a hermit! lol.

Looks like a lovely day spend with friends and yummy foods to go with that i always love buffet dinners or lunches :)

Indeed, it was a lovely day. I had the time to spend quality time with friends over great foods.

Sometimes buffet is a temptation to those who are keeping their diet but what is diet when grace is already there? 😃

It is always nice to caught up with friends and breaking out to a buffet it doesn't hurt it's not everyday of the week you would do that :)

Yap, a chance for buffet does not happen every day so I grab the chance when I get one. 😃

That's the way to go i love buffets :)

Really nice place. Hope to go there someday..

Come visit the Philippines. 😊

I see a beautiful and clean location, I'm convinced that the food is very tasty.

Indeed, the foods were tasty. All were great!

Thank you for your very positive feedback.

With pleasure!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

You got a 75.04% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75