The Holiest of Pastas

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


This pasta. This legendary pasta I had a year ago exactly to the day. It has been haunting me ever since and it makes me sad and hungry that it is a two hour drive away from my home.

I went away for the weekend to Montagu and the Robertson Wine Valley, approximately two hours' drive outside Cape Town, South Africa. The Saturday evening we dined at Kokkeman's Kitchen in the
countryside town of Montagu.

caafe901-1917-485f-9829-4622e12be581.jpg

I love fish and I love pasta, so when I saw the above description on the menu I had to try it.

857a7076-f654-49b0-a764-5cd06d032d6d.jpg

When this giant bowl arrived (the portion was really huge) I smiled like a little child that got a new toy. As you can see it was even topped with a twig of Spekboom. If you really want to make a literal translation of "spekboom" it would be bacon tree. Fun fact: Spekboom is the plant that is the best at absorbing CO2 from the air and even performs photosynthesis at night.

70e18fff-4c28-4e89-aca6-d5ad9ecd7b33.jpg

a9e61c83-a793-4bdc-a01f-9bb13353e151.jpg

Not long after the arrival I mixed everything in and even captured that moment as I was in food heaven.

IT WAS AMAZING! And it exceeded all expectations as I generally don't expect much of restaurants in small countryside towns.

Montagu is at the start of one of South Africa's most popular roadtrip routes - The Route 62. It is spectacular if you wish to drive through endless lush mountains. I fell in love with Montagu the first time I went and I've been back after with the locals as my main reason. They are the nicest people and makes everyone feel super welcome. I'm even going back for three days to spend my New Year's Eve there.

If you ever visit South Africa and wish to explore our countryside and winelands, be sure to head to Montagu's side - and don't forget to try the pasta.


Restaurant Information


Kokkeman's Kitchen
score
44 Bath St, Bergsig, Montagu, 6720, South Africa


The Holiest of Pastas
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Pasta vs Pizza


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

That looks to be a tasty treat, nice mix in a pasta dish will have to visit when I get to the Cape, so many wonderful hidden places to explore.

Visiting from #teamsouthafrica ~ making a move to #steemsa please visit https://steemit.com/steemsa/@jaynie/proudly-introducing-steem-south-africa

I tried Asta La Pasta the other night, I wasn't blown away, maybe I'll try this one next! Well Done!

This one is definitely worth it. You won't be disappointed.

Whooooooo!!!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Pasta vs Pizza> Contest . Thanks to @maretha94, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi! Apologies for popping onto your comments but have called out to most people on a post with very little feedback. I have just launched the new @steemsouthafrica account and discord server and would be thrilled to have you join us! We are trying to build up some SA STEEM momentum again – organising regular meet-ups etc. If you are interested, you can hop onto the new server HERE – hope to see you there soon! Oh, and you are welcome to start making use of the #steemsa tag on your posts so that we can support them with an upvote and resteem!
JOIN US ON TWITTER

STEEMSA logo.png

Hi! Apologies for popping onto your comments but have called out to most people on a post with very little feedback. I have just launched the new @steemsouthafrica account and discord server and would be thrilled to have you join us! We are trying to build up some SA STEEM momentum again – organising regular meet-ups etc. If you are interested, you can hop onto the new server HERE – hope to see you there soon! Oh, and you are welcome to start making use of the #steemsa tag on your posts so that we can support them with an upvote and resteem!
JOIN US ON TWITTER

STEEMSA logo.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66