A Steemtastic BBQ Korea Set Deal

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


Hello Tasteemers,

Today I would like to introduce to you another Korea cuisine from Sabah, Malaysia. Located 30 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu City, you will find this restaurant inside 1Borneo Hypermall. It's not hard to find this mall as it is the largest mall in Sabah. Now, let me take you to my Tasteem journey to Kimbab Food Cafe, a Korean restaurant in Sabah.

How did I find this restaurant?
At first, my wife and I didn't expect to find this restaurant or even bother to find any restaurant here because our mission was to make a quick final shopping for Christmas presents. Hours of searching gifts have made us quite hungry and we decided to look for a place to eat. After walking for quite a while, we ended up in front of this Korean restaurant. It never occurred to me to try this restaurant because truthfully I never tried Korean foods.

20181218_184427.jpg

The front shop displayed various menu to which some I didn't even know because it was written in Korean. Even the name of the shop is quite special Kimbab Korean Food Cafe. My first impression was this food cafe is clean, cosy and welcoming. Thus, I might just give it a try! Everything has its first time right?

20181218_184233.jpg

Upon entering, we were greeted warmly with the Korean language. I am not so sure how it is spelt, but something like Annyeonghasayo~. You won't believe I Googled this word and pardon me, Korean friends if the spelling is incorrect. The warm spoken language does welcome you inside this restaurant. The best part is, the welcoming speech is spoken by a Malaysian. Everyone can speak Korean now. Hooray!

20181218_184302.jpg

As soon as I entered the cafe, I can see a lot of Korean culture and tradition displayed around the shop. I saw clothes, glasses, masks, flags and some other which I don't really know what is it for.

20181218_184315.jpg

Masks were displayed and I don't have any clue what it was for or the story behind the masks. But, I'm liking what I was seeing because it's an opportunity for me to learn about other cultures.

20181218_184128.jpg

I have only seen these traditional Korean dresses on television, to see reality in front of my eye is totally an eye-opener. The other guests seem to be awed by the displays.

The Menu
Now, let me dive you to the delicacies offered here but since I am no expert in Korean. So, I let you have a look on the menu first.

20181218_184100.jpg

The menu was only two page, front and back. But there were so many to choose. My eyes rolled up and down looking on the menu not because it was a lot, but because I tried understanding the words. Did I mention it's written in Korean?

20181218_184114.jpg

Since there were many choices and we couldn't understand almost all except the Drinks, we decided to let the cafe recommends us which is the most famous dish they can offer.

Our Food
Since we left the food selection to the cafe, now we just hoped it's going to be delicious. The only thing we ordered by ourselves is the drinks. It's the only thing we can understand.

20181218_185127.jpg

This was the first set that was brought to us. Based on their explanation, it's a Korean culture to have this set of food comprises of rice, some Korean Soy Sauce and small varieties of differently cooked vegetables. From my eye, it was just rice and vegetables. I never thought vegetables can be cooked that way.

20181218_190059.jpg

And the most very famous Korean delicacy, Kimchi. The only time I had ever seen Kimchi was in a supermarket. It smelled quite strong and from then I kinda dislike Kimchi. But, to my own surprise, tasting Kimchi for the first time in my life, I never thought that it's going to be delicious and there was no smell at all! It was a homemade prepared Kimchi no wonder it was different from the ones sold in the supermarket.

20181218_185455.jpg

Now comes the main set, the BBQ Korean set meal. It was served with a Korean soup, chicken and beef. She prepared the BBQ stove and I was quite impressed by how it was presented. From here, the grizzling sound of barbequed meat really is something nice to hear and appetizing.

20181218_185529_003.jpg

They really filled the meat all over and I just can't wait to have a taste of that meat! Who doesn't love grilled meat? Yummy!

20181218_185646.jpg

We just can't wait for the barbequed meats. They really looked juicy. The vegetables looked really fresh PLUS the kind worker who really made us like it was home!

20181218_185856.jpg

The owner of the cafe came and cooked for us too. I was so humbled to see how kind she was. She is from Korea and can speak a little bit of Malaysian. She gave us a little tour of Korean food. Now, that's something really valuable! I overheard they call her "Mama", it truly is a unique work culture.

How did the food taste?
Truthfully, for someone who ate my first Korean food, the barbequed meats are juicy and delicious. The soup which uses Korean ingredients is tasty. Eating Kimchi for the first time also has opened a new taste bud for me. Honestly speaking, everything here is delicious. I enjoy my first Korean meal and it will not be last of it! Best of all, there were no oil, salt and MSG used in the entire meal. That means this meal is really healthy!

Was it cheap and fabulous?

20181220_101539.jpg

We paid MYR62.00 ($248) for the everything. It was so cheap considering it was a BBQ Korean set meal. They even throw in a free soup! How more cheap can this be? The owner told us it was cheap because they are having a promotion whereby the real price was supposed to be more expensive per person. I was star-struck to know this! It was the best deal in town!

The next time you come here, make sure to visit Kimbab Korean Food Cafe. The food is delicious, the restaurant is clean and you will be greeted by a nice warm welcome!

My Tasteem Review this time is totally STEEMTASTIC!

Make sure to bookmark this restaurant. The restaurant opens daily from 11 am until 9 pm.


Restaurant Information


Kimbab Korean Food Cafe
score
Unit No. G-803,1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan Sulaman, 88450 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia


A Steemtastic BBQ Korea Set Deal
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

I love Korean food but it's hard to get it here where I live. But the one in your post look great!! Keep those posts coming, great job!!

Thanks for the comment @elteamgordo. I really appreciate it🤗

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Cheap and Fabulous? Totally possible!> Contest . Thanks to @robmojo, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Makan Solo2 ohh.. calling2 together bah !!! baru lahh

Buli bro atur!!😆

Posted using Partiko Android

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link

Great review, congrats😸

Thanks @siamcat🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by robmojo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Looks tasty!

Yes it does!🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64