A great Hong Kong style barbeque place at last

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I love Hong Kong style barbeque food but so far I have not managed to find a decent one. The other week I saw a new fast food place selling Hong Kong style barbeque open up near me. I decided to wait a few days for the crowd to die down a little before I went. The name of the place is 香港燒臘快餐 and translates to Hong Kong Barbeque Fast Food. Pretty simple and to the point.

Source : https://gwan.tw/jiping/



Finally, I went last week to buy a couple of takeaway for dinner because we couldn't be bothered to cook that evening. It was about three days after they had opened, and there was still about 10 people in the queue ahead of me. I didn't take any photos as it was very crowded. They had a seating area, and the service counter was outside the shop. All the different type of barbeque were hanging at the display window, and they had all the typical meat including roast duck, roast pork belly, roask port, soy sauce chicken. These are the big four Hong Kong style barbeque food. If you have this combo with rice, it cost USD3.35 and is the most expensive item on the menu. That comes with four side dishes, so its actually really good value. The rest of the dishes cost around USD2.70, again with four side dishes. Here's my takeway dinner. I didn't realise they put disposable chopsticks in the bag, if I did I would have told them I don't need them.
DSC_2344.JPG



Here's what I got for dinner that evening. Two different type of rice book and they only cost USD6 for both!
DSC_2347.JPG

I ordered a roast duck leg which is also the most expensive dish on the menu. You get a whole leg instead of pieces of meat so its worth paying that little extra. Two of the four side dishes are vegetable, one is shredded tofu and seaweed, the the fourth is glass noodle. All very healthy.
DSC_2342.JPG

The other rice box I got was roast duck and roast belly pork for my wife. One of the side dish is different.
DSC_2341.JPG

I have to say, this is probably the best Hong Kong style barbeque I've had here. The flavour is very authentic, nearly as good as some of the ones I've had in Hong Kong Kong, particularly the roast duck. My only complaint is the roast belly pork skin. Its chewy and not crackily at all, in fact when I do a roast belly pork skin, I can do the skin much better than theirs. That aside, the flavour is very good and the pork belly cut had just the right amount of fat to pork ratio, just as it should be.

It's great that this fast food is near me and so good. I'm going to be back more often.


Restaurant Information


Hong Kong Barbeque Fast Food.
score
No. 397, Section 1, Xitun Road, North District, Taichung City, Taiwan 404


A great Hong Kong style barbeque place at last
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Takeaway


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Takeaway > Contest . Thanks to @sinochip, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Looks delicious!

Finally found a fast food that taste as good as it looks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11